Dhoom - Award Winning Indian Street Food Restaurant - Dunfermline Scotland

in Foodies Bee Hivelast year (edited)

Hi Foodies

This past weekend my family and I visited one of Scotland's top Indian restaurant's
DSCF9625.JPG

This place has won a few awards these past few years for their food and overall dining experience.
DSCF9624.JPG

As we walk past the window we see these rather peculiar swing seats. Perhaps on my next visit I will sit in one of these seats and watch the street life passing by.
DSCF9619.JPG

This little seating area is also very appealing to me, I guess the idea here is to create a sort of dining on the streets vibe.
DSCF9618.JPG

This is how most of the tables look. I love the washed out colours on the wooden benches. Overall the place looks really welcoming.
DSCF9617.JPG

Our goal on this visit was to try the lunch menu which is served from 12 noon until 2pm and costs £13.95. This lunch consists of a seasonal appetiser , 4 starters and a main course.
DSCF9596.JPG

There is also the option to choose what dishes you prefer from the A La Carte menu.
DSCF9595.JPG

DSCF9592.JPG

DSCF9591.JPG

This is the current seasonal appetiser. Its a tomato soup with paprika and corriander.It was just spicy enough to warm us up after coming out of the cold of a Scottish autumn afternoon.
DSCF9593.JPG

A complementary jug of water for the table. I ordered a pint of beer to accompany my meal.
DSCF9597.JPG

This is the first starter to be served. Marinated grated potato Pakoras, a dish from Chandini Chowk which is the main street in the the walled city of Old Delhi. The sauce has a creamy buttery flavour.
DSCF9598.JPG

This next dish is Bhojupri Dahl Chawal , a lentil and rice dumpling mixed with grated coconut .The sauce is a mango chutney.
DSCF9599.JPG

Of the 4 starters we tried this one is the one I enjoyed most. This is minced lamb and chicken mixed with eastern spices wrapped in a crispy pastry. Its a dish that originates from the area of India that shares a border with China. The sauce had a lime flavour to it, the pastries are served on a bed of crispy noodles. I would definitely order this starter again, these things are delicious.
DSCF9603.JPG

This dish is called Chicken 65 ,its boneless chicken marinated in garlic,ginger paste and garam masala. Its served with a garlic chilli sauce. These bad boys had quite a spicy kick to them but were incredibly tasty .This is another dish I would definitely order again. I will likely try and make my own version of these pretty soon.
DSCF9605.JPG

After the 4 starters were served we get this palette cleanser. This is made from mango and coconut ,it worked wonderfully to both cool and clear the palette in preparation for the main dishes.
DSCF9608.JPG

For my main I went for the chicken masala desi. This is chicken cooked with chopped masala,makhani sauce,curry leaf and mustard seeds.Its served with rice and chapati bread.
DSCF9609.JPG

My brother decided to try the mango fish curry .This dish is made with white fish fillet ,ginger ,garlic ,coriander, curry leaves and mango.
DSCF9613.JPG

My mother wanted to try the Chicken masala roll and masala chips. The roll is chicken masala served in a tortilla. The masala chips were amazingly tasty. The next time I visit this place I will certainly order a portion.
DSCF9612.JPG

Of the 4 main dishes we sampled the tastiest by far was the goat curry that my father ordered. I will likely order this dish and a few starters the next time I visit this restaurant. This dish consists of goat meat and sweet potato. The sauce tastes more like a spicy gravy than most Indian curries I have tried. This one scores a solid 10/10 ,highly recommended.
DSCF9611.JPG

I was curious to try a mango lassi while eating my main dish. This is one of the restaurant's non acholic cocktails
DSCF9615.JPG

This is a blend of mango ,yoghurt ,spices and some kind of syrup which I forget the name of. I found this to be a little to sweet for my taste although it was interesting to try it.
DSCF9616.JPG

We decided not to try any of the desserts on this visit as there is a traditional sweet shop and Ice cream parlour right next to the restaurant.
DSCF9623.JPG

It is rare to see these old style sweet shops nowadays.
DSCF9621.JPG

DSCF9620.JPG

So many flavours to choose from....
DSCF9622.JPG

Overall I highly enjoyed the Dhoom Indian street food dining experience. The lunch menu was well worth a try, I felt £13.95 was good value and was a great way to try a few starters I had never sampled before.

I am eager to return to this restaurant which I most likely will do during the Christmas holidays. On the next visit I will try and sample some different dishes and will most likely report my experience here.

Thanks for checking out my post!

DSCF9614.JPG

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

what a delicious food

Yeah it was very tasty , one of the best restaurants I have been to :). Thanks for checking out my post! :D

is not worth it..!!