Salt & Pepper Chips And Smiley Faces

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago (edited)

Hi Everyone

Yesterday I tried a little experiment in the kitchen. I wanted to whip up a batch of Chinese style Salt & Pepper chips and wondered if this recipe would also work for potato smiley faces.
DSCF6508.JPG

My nephews who are 8 and 4 years old love these happy potato faces and if I am honest every now and then I will steal a few for myself.
DSCF6504.JPG

To make this Chinese inspired Salt and Pepper recipe we need a batter.

This mix contains 1 egg, some salt, paprika ,crushed chilli pepper , Chinese 5 spice powder , turmeric and some chopped garlic.
DSCF6505.JPG

Once the batter is mixed its a pretty simple process of dipping our chips and smiley faces into it...
DSCF6507.JPG

Then frying them in some olive or vegetable oil until they are crisp and golden brown.
DSCF6506.JPG

The result is a tasty ,crispy potato snack with a little spicy kick to it from the spices we added.

DSCF6509.JPG

These are easy to make and taste delicious .Give it a try Im sure your family will enjoy them.
DSCF6510.JPG

DSCF6513.JPG

DSCF6511.JPG