Delicious Pear and Ginger compote, with cinnamon and honey too. Healthy dessert.

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

Hello, dear community! I hope that all of you are having a nice day so far.

In my previous post, I shared with you all about some homemade jam that I enjoyed yesterday in my afternoon break after I decided to sit down quietly to have a cup of coffee, eat something sweet, and maybe read a little or watch something. It felt natural to do that yesterday and since this is the second working day of the week, I decided to take the same initiative and make something sweet to enjoy as a snack and preferably using things that I already had, thinking about something healthy, maybe not with too many calories, and vegan? why not, so I went for a spicy pear compote with raisins and granola.

Diseño sin título (1).jpg

I think that this is the first dessert I ever tasted in my life, and I dare to say that it was one of the first meals that I was given as a baby. I´ve always liked a cold compote, even when I was a teenager, and as an adult, I mean, Who doesn’t like compotes?

As the jams or the jellos, and I think that a compote is a fun and delicious way to acquire something sweet, but because it is so simple and made just using fruits and spices, it is healthy, probably full of vitamins and antioxidants, which is good for the skin, preventing cancer, and all the good things.

The compote I prepared this time was made with 2 pears I already had in the fridge, a tiny piece of ginger, cinnamon powder, the juice from half lemon, honey, and a pinch of corn starch on 20 ml of water.

P1060821.JPG

I peeled and chopped the pears, putting aside any solid waste from it, and placed them on a pot, which I added next to the juice of the lemon, the cinnamon powder, and the honey, mixing it well with a spoon and letting it rest from approximately 2 hours, and put a cover on it. Some people, depending on the temperature of the country where they are, leave it there for a whole night or more than 2 hours.

P1060822.JPG

P1060823.JPG

P1060824.JPG

I turned on the stove then and while the pears were getting hot, I smashed them well with the same spoon that I was using to stir them constantly to avoid them sticking in the bottom and burning.

P1060831.JPG

Next, I added the ginger to the mix, peeled and grated, and the water with the starch. When this new mix boils for about 2 or 3 minutes on low fire, it is ready.

P1060834.JPG

You can serve it hot or cold because it is delicious in any way. The compote is versatile and you can add anything that you find that can make a good combination with the fruit that you decided to use. In my case, I added granola and some raising for the extra fiber of both, and to complete the dessert.

P1060835.JPG

P1060836.JPG

P1060839.JPG

My favorite compote is the one made from apples, but I also love the mango compote, the peach, and maybe a mix of tropical flavors. Compotes are not just for our babies, even though the one I made today would have been ok to a baby just without the ginger, and of course, if you’re celiac maybe don’t add the starch, but otherwise is lactose-free, animal product-free, and if you’re allergic to granola or any of the ingredients, it is likely that you can find a good alternative as a substitute to any of them.

P1060848.JPG

Note: I just realized that I don’t know how complicated is the subject: ¿Honey, is it vegan? Because I just called my whole compote vegan and there are some that do not consider honey as a vegan product, but to those, I want to say respectfully that I don’t stand an opinion on these subject, and I don’t proclaim that I do consider the honey a vegan food, or that I think it should be considered vegan, I just think that maybe is vegan? maybe some vegetarians and even vegans would dare to use it, if not, no problem, just add sugar or any healthier sweetener like stevia.

I hope you like this and maybe some of you tell me what do you think about honey and compotes, and comment me if you will try it.

I say bye and until the next occasion, sending regards.

César.

Sort:  

I'm glad you decided to eat from a bowl in the end. 😉 That looks delicious and has given me some ideas.

Your post has been featured in the Lotus Garden newsletter, which will be published tomorrow.


You've been curated by @minismallholding for Natural Medicine's homesteading newsletter, supporting gardeners, permaculturalists, foragers, environmentalists and other earth centred relationships with the earth.
CommunityIIDiscord

It is flattering to know that there is a possibility to inspire or give ideas to others, and I smile every time I read something like that. Thank you very much for the support, and the positivity of your notes.
Greetings!

Congratulations @cesarj21! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Just brought back some childhood memories. Thanks for the share.

To remember is to live indeed. I am glad that you liked, thanks to you for the nice comment.

This looks great, delicious, nutritious, and healthy. Greetings.

Thank you very much for the support and the positive and kind comment.

Greetings!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png