Budget-Friendly Meals for Students

Aside from the struggles and challenges of being a student, we are also gaining a few advantages. The paper works, requirements, and other school activities caused us stress and disappointments. But being a student is kind of fun too, plus we have some privileges that we enjoy not only inside the school premises, but in the outside world.

Here in the Philippines, the students have a 20% discount on transport fares. It is one of the things that we enjoy because it means we can save a few penny in our allowances. Aside from the discounted fares, there's also one thing that I love - the Student Meals from restaurants.

In this blog, let me explain what does a student meal means and how benefits the student financially.

you're invited to an (2).jpg


I have been aware with the rising inflation rate in the country. And I also felt the sudden financial crisis when the prices of goods, transportation, and other necessities increased. It was a sore to the wallet of every individual, and the students are not exempted. We are also affected by the inflation.

So when the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) decided to continue the face-to-face classes, most of the students got shocked with how much was the cost of living nowadays. And I am one of them who felt pressured going to school, and thinking of ways on how to save money. Luckily, there are restaurants that offer the Student Meals, which reasonable discounts to lessen the burden of the students.

Whenever I eat my lunch, I always make sure to look for the best and perfect offers.

IMG_20230127_214517.jpg

We went to the nearest food stall just a few steps away from our university and tried their wallet-friendly deals. As you can see in the menu above, there are different choices of combo meals.

Combo MealPrice in Philippine PesoEstimated Price in USD
1. Rice + Pork + Vegetable60.00$1.10
2. Rice + Chicken + Vegetable60.00$1.10
3. Rice + Chicken + Pork70.00$1.29
4. Rice + Pork + Pork70.00$1.29

And when I ordered, I chose the combo #4. It was a rice meal with two viands that are pork. Also, you will be given the chance to choose between the available viands in their serving station. After ordering, we only waited a few minutes.

Now here comes our orders!

IMG_20230127_214507.jpg

IMG_20230127_214459.jpg

IMG_20230127_214449.jpg

One of my classmates had some vegetable on her plate and a pork viand, which means she chose the combo #1. My other classmate chose the same combo meal that I had.

Check out my plate of good food:

IMG_20230127_214437.jpg

Please excuse my two cups of rice!
It's just because these two viands were my favorite. And who am I to say no to an extra rice, right?

For us students, these combo meals are already budget-friendly, plus the unli soup and free water that comes with them made it perfect for students. To save some penny, I am using my water bottle so I could refill it in restaurants like this instead of buying from a convenience store. It's my way of saving money too!

That's it. I hope you liked my #FoodiesBeeHive moment at my school.



I cannot express how thankful I am to those who have taken the time to read what I have written today. Your support means everything to me. Please acknowledge the sincere thanks I feel for each and every one of you. I hope to see you on my next blog and look forward to it!

Beige Minimalist Neutral Company Presentation.jpg

Author's Socials:
CHECK OUT SOME PREVIOUS BLOGS:

charmingcherry.gif

Hive Blog No. 55
Date Published: March 22, 2023

All photos are captured and owned by CC. Lead Image was edited from Canva | Copyright © 2023, @charmingcherry. All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

Nothing wrong looking for the best deal as a student. It should be practiced by everybody to save money when it's determined to eat out :)

You're right. There's already a bunch of expenses for students, so we need to find ways on how to save some money.

Sa school canteen namin walang budget friendly eh apakamahal ng mga bililhin, yung malapit lang na stall samin is bilihan ng mga kwek kwek pero mahal din hahaha kaya kami mas pinipili na lang namin bumili ng pastil kase 20 pesos lang sulit na, hirap tlaga kumilos ngayon sa mahal ng mga pagkain.

Sa school namin maraming student meals talaga. Minsan need talaga natin ng way kung paano makatipid eh