You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Super Simple Home Cooked Dish | "Wat Tan Hor" - Cantonese Flat Rice Noodle In Egg Gravy

I googled it, and indeed, we are using the same type of noodle (kuey tiaw). However, I suppose the difference lies in the fact that you use the term "kuey tiaw" to refer to any noodle dish with soup, rather than specifying the particular name of the noodle. In Malaysia, a noodle dish with soup can be called "kuey tiaw soup," "beehoon soup," "yee mee soup," "chow mein soup," "pan mee soup," "kolok soup," etc., each referring to a different type of noodle.

Sort:  

That's cool. For us "kuey tiaw" is like the name of the noodle dish, then in "kuey tiaw" you can choose different kinds of noodles in it, for example, Big flat, thin, egg, vermicelli or glass noodle. So basically when we order we have to tell which noodle we want.

Also, sometimes we can have "dry kuey tiaw" which is a noodle dish without a soup, or in some cases a soup on the side. haha, I can go on and on about noodle dishes honestly. And I can't wait to try some Malaysian kuey tiaw soup when I'm there :)

Thanks for googling and exchanging this topic with me.