Comfort food : meatball soup

This is the soup that ended my 2+ years of being a vegetarian. I love this soup and it reminds me of my childhood when my grandmother used to prepare this and wait for me when I was a teenager after I came from school to have a nice lunch meal. It is a traditional soup in Romania.

DSCF7935.jpg

You will need a big pot for this, of around 4 litres, it depends on how thick or how light you enjoy your soups.

The ingredients necessary for the soup

3 tomatoes sliced in tiny cubes

1 zucchini sliced in tiny cubes

1 small celery

2 peppers (red , yellow or green, your choice)

1 big carrot

2 onions ( I picked red onions, you can also use regular)

beef bones or a piece of beef rib eye

½ l of borsch (it is a traditional sour liquid obtained from the fermentation of wheat bran)

parsley

lovage

salt (simple or Himalaya salt, I used the latter)

DSCF7899.jpg

The ingrediends necessary for the meatballs

500 grams of minced beef meat

1 egg

chopped parsley

1 small chopped onion

sweet paprika

salt

pepper

Optional for serving

sour cream

hot pepper

A. First we put the beef bones or the beef rib eye in water and let it boil until no more froth is gathering on top. We remove the dirty froth. I have used rib eye as I have not found beef bones at my nearby shop.

B. When froth is no longer forming on top, we can add the chopped celery, carrot and onion.

DSCF7904.jpg

C.We let the mixture boil for 20 minutes.

D.Meanwhile we prepare the mixture for the meatballs. We add 1 egg on top of the minced meat, chopped parsley, sweet paprika, salt, pepper and we mix it well. It is optional to add 100 grams of rice into this composition, I prefer without.

DSCF7913.jpg

E.With a bowl of cold water near us we form the meatballs. A very relaxing activity as I like my meatballs small and I enjoy working with my hands.

DSCF7915.jpg

F.After the 20 minutes have passed since we added the ingredients from step 2, we add the chopped tomatoes, the red pepper, salt and the pre-boiled borsch. I have boiled my borsch separately and I also drinked some of it like this, raw. I love the taste and this liquid is packed with vitamin B.

DSCF7910.jpg

G.We let the soup boil for another 15 minutes.

H.We remove the beef bones/rib eye and we add the zucchini. We can take the meat of the bone and add it to the soup later.

I.We let the soup boil for another 10 minutes.

J.Now it is the best moment of the recipe: we add the meatballs. On a very low heat, we add it one by one. We do not stir at all into the soup while these will be boiling because we risk to make them break apart.

K. We let the soup boil for another 20 minutes.

L.We stop the fire and we add the chopped parsley and lovage.

DSCF7907.jpg

DSCF7921.jpg

DSCF7929.jpg

M.We can add extra salt if we feel like it. I serve it with sour cream but it is a matter of personal taste, some people like it just as it is from the pot.

With added sour cream...it is totally something else🤩

DSCF7937.jpg

Another hot soup that made my toes wiggle of joy!

Sort:  

It's kind of weird because I've never eaten this, however it looks appealing to my taste and I love the presentation it has and the dedication you've put into taking each photo and making it look beautiful.

Oh it is quite an adventure to cook, photograph and taste in the same time haha! Thank you for seing and appreciating the effort behind the post!

Hey, yeah, I've tried it and it's a little difficult. At least I felt like I always missed an important detail or failed to capture the photo the way I really wanted to.
That's why I really admire the work you do.

Thank you very much!

Oh .... I have to make it ... it looks I can make all this fast too :))
Thanx what this good soup post .... I need it very when I have winter here in Estonia and it is -10 .. and sometimes -20 :))

wow that is so cold ! Here in Romania we have a very mild winter, no snow yet in some areas

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much!

Looking quite detailed and not complicated as I thought

Yes it is very simple to do and sooo tasty!

This is looking quite easy to make and I can even get all of the ingredients here. I think I should make it one of these days

You will love the taste it is so rustic and delicious yum, I just started my day eating one serving already:))

This is what we call soup and swallow in Nigeria, and it's made of melon seed, maybe we like food that's why we can't just eat the soup but we must add swallow lol

Wave Media

Melon seed, that is very interesting.

Yes have you seen it before?

No, we don't have this kind of recipe in the romanian cuisine, at least from what I know

Is a very good one for Africans

Hello creativemary!

It's nice to let you know that your article will take 4th place.
Your post is among 15 Best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by nuthman

You receive 🎖 2.6 unique LUBEST tokens as a reward. You can support Lu world and your curator, then he and you will receive 10x more of the winning token. There is a buyout offer waiting for him on the stock exchange. All you need to do is reblog Daily Report 142 with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START