Low Carb Corn Stuff for 1

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago (edited)

I've been eating healthy these days in order to feel good and not be all the time diabolical. Healthy food, hard exercise are proven antidote to my inner chaos and personal demons. Because if I don't do these things, I will easily degenerate into hell. So lately I've discovered this corn stuff called corn grits. It's not that bad to be honest but it just take getting used to. I've been avoiding really good stuff like creamy pasta and oily fried rice, because you know, I also have to stay fit. Okay okay, just because I'm not that fatty doesn't mean I won't go extra mile just to maintain an acceptable waistline and body shape. It's actually hard as women age. And so I've been conscious about what I've been eating not only for my mental health but also for my body. The struggle ugh. I won't be a hypocrite here saying that I enjoy eating grass most of the time. Deep down, I wish I can eat cake, pizza and deep fried stuff without the consequences. Life is hard.

Anyway, are you one of those who is absolutely lazy to cook but cannot afford to take out? Lol welcome to my club. Yeah it's like if I can't do this then what? Die of starvation? Good news, you don't have to. I do believe that you can still be lazy, eat healthy and not spend so much on food. Because guess what, tadaaaaaa, times are hard. Inflation, rising oil prices, world crisis, hello?

When you're living on your own it can be such a pain to cook for one. Or holler table for 1. Unless of course, you absolutely absolutely love yourself lol. Like this guy in this hostel I was staying at, he was cooking some really nice delish creamy pasta with chicken on top and there we were watching him go through all the trouble just for him to eat it all alone in front of us. Not that there's something wrong with that but man at least offer some (even if you don't mean it lol). I know some people in these so-called modern societies who actually don't mind eating alone in front of people without a shame lol. Okay maybe back then, I was still not used to this kind of SELFish lifestyle.

I do admit I have more appetite if I share my food or if I eat out with friends. I know Self-Love is the norm out there lol but admit it, it's actually more fun to eat people (I've been watching Dahmer damn) eat with people.

Sorry to disappoint but I don't have the recipe at the mo but I promise when I have a better kitchen (soonish), with better lighting, I will post more recipes of my simple cooking for 1. Nothing fancy tho, just food for the manic depressive craaazy ones.

I've paired my corn grits with sauteed Bokchoy with ground beef, tomatoes, onions and a dash of oyster sauce. Okay I'm actually not used to eating super salty and tasty stuff without pasta/rice so my taste buds are still adapting. You cook it just like rice and eat it like rice. Rice is of course is higher in carbs and calories because of starch. Corn grits on the other hand contain more vitamins, minerals and antioxidants. But of course, anything you eat in excess is bad so just eat moderately. Just a friendly reminder, don't get fat! lol.

IMG_20220918_213718.jpg

Sort:  

eating alone can be boring but when you have to do it you have to take care of what you eat. Blessings to you

That's true!

Nice.... That looks tasty, but healthy as well, if you can hit both of them, you're onto a winner!

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations @diabolika! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 80000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 85000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!