Great Value Meal: Pungko-Pungko at Fuente

in Foodies Bee Hive14 days ago (edited)
Good day everyone! I hope all is going well for each one of you. I want to ask you, are you also that kind of person who loves to try out various foods? If yes, this one is for you. For today, I am going to share with you another food trip I had with my colleagues. This is about the newly discovered eatery near our workplace that's called Pungko-Pungko sa Fuente.

Every time the clock ticks around 11 am (lunchtime), people in the workplace will start to panic as to what to eat for lunch. I, together with my colleagues, love to go outside and explore various eatery where we can eat. One of my colleagues suggested this eatery. Specifically, this eatery is located at the back of the Hi-Precision Diagnostic Clinic in Cebu. From the Fuente Circle, you just have to walk around kilometers. It is also a walking distance from the place our office is located.

Even with the scorching heat of the sun, we went there with my colleagues. When we arrived, the staffs welcomed us, offered us a plate and a place where we could be seated. I was amazed by their food set-up since it is served in a high volume. I was scared of it falling off. Also, with the hanging rice which is hanging around the place.


Pungko-Pungko sa Fuente is known for offering deep-fried various foods, such as fried chicken, pork chop, ginabot or pig intestine, ngohiong, hotdog, bola-bola, longganisa, and lumpia (vegetables and meats). It is placed in a large container where people can simply pick their food. All of these were deep-fried in a pan full of oil. For the price, it only cost around 20-75 pesos equivalent to $0.34-$1.31 not more than 100 pesos or $1.75.

I was also wondering why it is called "pungko-pungko". I have searched it to find meaning and here's the answer.

Taken from the Cebuano word "pungko", which means "to squat", pungko-pungko is a term used to describe the manner of eating in which customers sit on small, low benches along the road with trays containing a wide array of dishes displayed on tables in front of them.
source

This kind of food is perfect if you are saving up so that you don't want to spend too much on food. Like us college students who really are on a tight budget for our allowance, it is one of our options. It is at good value, delicious and very affordable. It is perfect to pair up with vinegar and soy sauce with lots of onions. It is also a perfect bonding trip for friends and family.



During our visit, we ordered the ginabot, porkchop and lumpia with an additional cup of onions. My colleague wanted it to be full of onions. She believed that onions can lower down high blood pressure. Ever since then, I have not been a fan of onions. However, when I tried eating it raw, I was surprised. It tasted as good as I did not expect. Additionally, pungko-pungko is also perfect to pair up with soft drinks. It will complete your meal. So we also ordered drinks.

After we eat, we headed back to the office since we only have 1 hour break. Overall, I can say that it is a great experience specially that I am with my colleagues. I will definitely go back there some time.

If you want to visit the place and try out their "Pungko-Pungko" You can visit their
Facebook Page: Pungko-Pungko sa Fuente
Additional details:
They are open everyday from 𝟲𝗮𝗺 𝘁𝗼 𝟭𝟬𝗽𝗺
𝗗𝗲𝗹𝗶𝘃𝗲𝗿𝘆 𝗮𝘃𝗮𝗶𝗹𝗮𝗯𝗹𝗲 𝗳𝗿𝗼𝗺 𝟴𝗮𝗺 𝘁𝗼 𝟳𝗽𝗺
🛵 For DELIVERY and PICK-UP:
📱 0916 896 4714

You can use Google Maps as your guide:
📌Route going to Pungko-Pungko sa Fuente


Thank you so much divers for always supporting me in my blogs. I hope to see you around on our next food adventures. Bon appetit!😋

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you pinmapple❤

I badly wanna try this with you guys! 😭❤️

Arats Je inig human nila OJT puhon

This is so unhealthy pero lami man kaayo ni oi. goodluck highblood ba. hahaha.

Consume in moderation lang jud maam, tambal ibog² lang hehe

hahah mao gyud.

I wanna try this food again.

Truly this is a must try,but with moderation. Happy eating!

Thank you @brandonwrites , I forgot to remind that

Your blog Ma'am @digdeeper2 makes me crave of pungkopungko ☺️
I love eating pungkopungko with classmates and friends. When I was in college,we always eat pungkopungko at the back of Abellana National High School.

I appreciate hearing that from you ma'am @diamondinthesky, and I definitely agree with you because I also tried eating pungko-pungko with my friends back then. Maybe you can try it again soon🤗

I love pungko-pungko❤️ It’s a life saver during “ting-bits” hahahaha

I definitely agree with you @reshychannn hahaha

I would love to try Pungko- Pungko- toooo. Hoping to visit this place soon. Anyway, thank youu for sharing @digdeeper2 !🤗

My pleasure Jill, let's try it together soon, if you like😊

Congratulations @digdeeper2! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 400 replies.
Your next target is to reach 500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge

Thank you @hivebuzz 😍

That's great @digdeeper2! We're excited to see your accomplishments on Hive! We'll continue to support you to achieve your next goals!

BTW, we noticed we miss your support for our proposal. Mays we ask you to check it out and consider supporting it?
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

I really wanted to try it again but my stomach won't let me but definitely will try bahala nang sakits tiyan hahahahahah

Try it again soon po, just in moderation lang basin maunsa niya ka ba hehe

My, those foods na patong patong, ang dami siguro nila lagi costumer no. Parang sarap kumain jan, esp malinis din sa paligid uwu

I have thought of that too maam,maybe they are making great sales there and also they have many staffs around

@digdeeper2 sana all gwaps when pa kaya ka ara hahahaha😘

Soon gwapss ara ta, with the girls 🤗❤

Been eating pungko-pungko since highschool. The best!

Definitely agree with you Chelle☺

Wow! This is amazing, I also love to try out new melas with friends. 🙌🙌

Thank you maam, go ahead and enjoy trying out different meals with friends😊

Wow! This pungko-pungko eatery is really a great place because of their food presentation. I didn't realize it was located in Fuente. Our place is actually near Fuente. Thank you for sharing! Maybe I can visit the place when I have the time.

It is sir @iamjkk, enjoy on your visit soon!