Eating at "Taberna del Gourmet" tavern/restaurant - First visit👍

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

This is a well known Alicante restaurant specialized in typical tapas and good fresh product and it's a more affordable restaurant than Monastrell restaurant owned by the same Alicante Michelin starred chef, María José San Román.

They currently have a ⭐4.3 rating in Google Maps and my personal rating was ⭐5.

  • Appetizers on the house and a Bobal grapes "Bobos" red wine (€30/bottle at restaurant).

  • Russian Salad cracker with anchovy topping.

  • Boiled Valencian mussels (smaller and full of flavor).

  • Cod and potato fritter with aioli sauce.

  • Red tuna tataki with wasabi foam (€24/half portion)(1).

  • Red tuna tataki with wasabi foam (€24/half portion)(2).

  • Red tuna tataki with wasabi foam (€24/half portion)(3).

  • Red tuna tataki with wasabi foam (€24/half portion)(4).

  • Red tuna tataki with wasabi foam (close up).

  • French toast with vanilla ice cream (1).

  • French toast with vanilla ice cream (2).

Overall evaluation of the restaurant: 7 points out of 10.

Photographs taken with my Samsung Galaxy S20 Ultra 5G camera.
Sort:  

OMG I didn't know there was an economical option to try María José San Román's food :O

I don't doubt your score, it was surely all very good and the photos back it up, that tuna is fascinating I find it hard to stop looking at it.

Now then, was that French toast or more of a Torrija? that way I get a better idea of the flavor.

Despite being a tapas restaurant, did they have a menu or not?

I have no doubt that you enjoyed it a lot, I'll keep this recommendation for when I can go and visit Alicante!

¿Qué? No tenía ni idea que había una opción económica para probar la comida de la gran María José San Román :O

No dudo de tu puntuación, seguramente estaba todo muy bueno y las fotos lo respaldan, ese atún es fascinante me cuesta dejar de observarlo.

Ahora bien, eso ¿era una tostada francesa o más bien una Torrija? que así me hago una idea más acertada del sabor.

A pesar de ser un restaurante de tapas, disponían de algún menú o no era el caso?

No dudo que hayas disfrutado mucho, me guardo esta recomendación para cuando pueda ir a conocer Alicante!

Hello, Nina :)
Actually, María José San Román is owning 6 restaurants: Monastrell, Taberna del Gourmet (this one), Tribeca (3BK, specialized in top burgers and hotdogs), 2 Infraganti Pizzerias and La Vaquería (Campello, specialized in fire grilling good meat).
Nice to know that you know about "torrijas", so yeah, it was also one of the best torrijas in town, the same as this tuna that it's probably the best I've ever had.
As far as I know, they didn't have a tasting menu or daily menu when I was there.
And feel welcome when you come to Alicante; I'm actually travelling the world but if, by chance, I'd be in Alicante, I can show you lots of places.

Love the food, especially the tataki, it looks very tasty.

Yeah, it looks really good and definetely it was :)

The tuna looks great and so tasty

It's probably the best tuna tataki I'eve ever had, to be honest.