My Favorite Sweet & Sour Squid

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago (edited)

20211023_122512.jpg


Hello foodie lovers

How are you?

A few days ago I went on a culinary tour at a seafood restaurant around my house. Yes, you can't say it's very close to my house though, but yes, it's not too far from home. If you ride a motorbike there, it only takes about 10 minutes.

This restaurant, named Rumah Seafood, is located on the outskirts of the North Sumatra traffic road, to be precise, at the Emplasmen Air Batu.


20211023_122611.jpg

20211023_122614.jpg

20211023_122616.jpg


Because I came at afternoon, this restaurant is still quiet. When I came there were still some people who stopped there. This restaurant is often visited by travelers who travel long distances.

Maybe if I come here at night, this restaurant will be crowded. However, enjoying food in an atmosphere that is not too crowded will show its own enjoyment.


The Food That I Have Order



20211023_122540.jpg


As the main menu I ordered sweet and sour squid, stir-fried kale, of course with a plate of rice. For the drink I chosen ice cappuccino. Because of the weather in North Sumatera is too hot, so I need ice.

Actually there is no particular reason why I ordered these three menus. I just ordered my favorite dish, stir-fried kale, while sweet and sour squid, I wanted to try it. because where I live, it's rare for anyone to include sweet and sour squid on their menu. Most of the menu menus at roadside restaurants like this restaurant only sell general menus such as fried rice, grilled chicken, fried noodles, and something in fried.



Sweet & Sour Squid


20211023_122512.jpg


Sweet and sour squid is one of my favorite menus. As I said before, finding sweet and sour squid at a restaurant in my hometown is very difficult because not all seafood restaurants add this menu to their menu.

I first fell in love with sweet and sour squid when I went to a friend's wedding. Sweet and sour squid is a very popular menu at wedding events. So since then I really like sweet and sour squid.

Sweet and sour squid is a dish where the squid is fried in flour and then covered with sweet and sour sauce.



The sweet and sour squid at this restaurant is beyond my expectations. I think the squid they will serve is squid with small size, which is then cut into several pieces. I expect like that.

However, I am very satisfied because this restaurant's version of the sweet and sour squid is very satisfying. they use large squid and fry it whole, not cut into pieces. The portion is also very big. I think it can be used by two to three people.

The way of serving it is also very good. with cucumber and tomato slices, as well as celery leaves, this sweet and sour squid looks great.


Sauteed Kale



20211023_122506.jpg


At lunch, it doesn't taste good without something with gravy. My favorite is stir-fried kale. It is a dish that is easy to find in any restaurant.

So I ordered a portion of stir-fried kale. This portion is a bit small. but as I expected, I got a lot of gravy.

But to be honest, this stir fry is very salty. And eating it with sweet and sour squid is a bad mix because I find it very salty.

but because I already ordered it, so I have to finish it even though I have to drink a lot of water to neutralize the taste.


Ice Cappuccino



This is not an iced cappuccino like the barista served at the caffe. This is just instant coffee I don't know what brand to use. To be honest, this ice cappuccino is to sweet.


For dessert, I ordered a bowl of indomi gravy like this.


20211023_123111.jpg


Different from stir-fried kale, I prefer the noodle soup they serve. Very spicy. However, the portion is very big. I thought they would provide small portions, like a pack of instant noodles. I think they use different noodles from the instant noodles that boarding children often eat. hehehehe

So I'm very full. Well, I eat it all.

I've Got Shocked With All Price

ordering simple dishes at a roadside restaurant in my hometown I thought would not drain my wallet. It's not a city, so I thought the price would be friendly. From the start, the prices for each menu item were not included in the menu book, so I only speculated that the price would not be more than IDR 200K or USD 14.10.

But I was wrong. For all those portions I spent IDR 250K or USD 17.62. You know what's really expensive?

Sweet and sour squid is very expensive. It costs IDR 75K or USD 5.29. I've got goosebumps. luckily I brought enough money, and it fits. I didn't expect this restaurant to be so expensive. It's like when I eat at a restaurant in Jakarta. Very expensive for the size of my hometown.

This makes me not want to come back again. Ha ha ha


All photos taken by Samsung Galaxy S8

Sort:  

It's too expensive. Even I won't purchased that price in Jakarta. You've got zonk!

yeah. I've got zonk!

Congratulations @dyjoon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 50 replies.
Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - 1000 Hive Power Delegation Winner
Merry Christmas - Challenge Feedback - Win a 1000 HP delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I love sweet and sour dishes, I must try that one!