You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trying Out Rustic, No-Knead Crusty Buns

in Foodies Bee Hive9 months ago

Why put the flour on the baking paper?

To be honest, I've never seen anyone do that, or heard anyone saying that's a good thing. This was the first time I saw it in this video and usually I'm following the recipe (almost) to the letter, if it's the first time. So I thought, let's try it out. Mine did not burn as it was only 30min at 190°C, but you are right, it can burn easily.

Yeah, kneading is important and trust, me, it's the first time I opted for this no-knead recipe, because my arm was hurting. Otherwise I prefer a kneaded dough, especially that I have a mixer to do the hard work.

I've seen many recipe use the bowl of water when baking, but as this was a fast one, the original recipe says nothing about it, I thought it would be ok without it.

Sort:  

I thought it would be ok without it.

It always works without the addition of water – but the dough is happy with the moist steam.