Caramelized Onions and Charred Butternut

1.JPG

| caramelized onions; charred butternut; feta cheese; sweetened fig, peach and pecan sauce; lemon and soya glaze |

2.JPG

When charring butternut, a peculiar sweetness emerges. This sweetness pairs so well in salads with salty cheese or salted nuts. This time, I paired it with caramelized onions, salty feta cheese, and a sweet fig, peach, and pecan sauce with a lemon and soya glaze. That is a mouthful, but I assure you it is worth it.

This recipe is so quick to make, it is also so easy, cheap, and healthy. The pairing of onion and butternut might at first sound weird or strange, but I assure you it works so well.

So please follow along with me as I show you how I make this recipe!

Ingredients/Recipe

For this recipe, you will need the following ingredients:

  • a small butternut (roughly one cup),
  • one onion,
  • a smallish block of feta cheese (roughly 100grams),
  • a pinch of sesame seeds,
  • a tablespoon of sweetened fig, peach, and pecan sauce,
  • a teaspoon of lemon juice,
  • a small droplet of sesame oil (a lot goes very far), and
  • half a teaspoon of thick soya sauce.

This will make about two portions (depending on how big a portion you can stomach!).

3.JPG

4.JPG

Method/Procedure

Like everything in cooking, begin by cutting everything. The thinner you can cut the onion, the better. I begin with the onion as it will flavor the pan for the cooking of the butternut. So I started by cutting the onion.

5.JPG

I then slowly caramelize the onion. Begin with a warm skillet with only oil. No sugar or anything else. Not even salt at this stage.

6.JPG

I then slowly cooked the onion until it was caramelized. I could have taken it further, but I still wanted some "crunch" in the onion.

8.JPG

Whilst this happened, I also made the sauce. This is not complex at all, I just mixed all of the liquid together.

9.JPG

When this is done, along with the onions, I cleared the skilled. The oil left in the pan is a little flavored with onions. I cut the butternut into small cubes and then add it to the skillet.

10.JPG

The goal is to char the butternut a bit. This will enhance the inherent sweetness of the butternut. Again, only oil is used nothing else. Not even salt.

11.JPG

When this is done, I added the sauce I made earlier. I just mixed it together with the butternut. The skillet will still be hot, so I added the onions to just warm it up a bit again.

12.JPG

After this, I plated everything up. I started with a healthy amount of butternut.

13.JPG

I added the onions which were now warmed up in the cast iron skillet.

14.JPG

I then added crumbled feta cheese. I actually forgot to put the sesame seeds on top of the feta cheese. But if I remembered, this would have been the stage of adding it.

15.JPG

There you have it. It is that simple and easy. It is really something special. I made this for @urban.scout and she asked for more. There is always a situation in which you make too little when you know it will be a good recipe.

16.JPG

The acid from the lemon juice and the salt from the cheese break through the sweetness of the sauce and the butternut. It really pairs well and in the future, I am going to make more of it! I really hope you will make this for you and your family.

17.JPG

For now, happy cooking and enjoy the process! Explore some alternative ideas and please let me know in the comments.

Stay safe.

The photographs used in this post are my own, taken with my iPhone. The recipe and writings used in this post are also my own.

Sort:  

I thought I would love this recipe! but I need add more strong seasoning. Indonesian taste is super strong 😊

That makes sense! Sometimes I strip down a recipe to the basics. But the more seasoning the better in some cases, I totally agree with you!

An interesting combination of products. It must be delicious.

Thank you so much, it surely was! Please give it a try and let me know if it went well.

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Vote for our witness @sagarkothari88

Thank you for this ! Easy to follow instructions on caramelized onions- awesome! ❤

Thank you so much for your kind words. I really appreciate it. Keep well, my friend!