Creamy Tuscan Chicken Spaghetti

IMG-20220411-WA0000-01.jpeg

Hey guys! So stoked to be putting out one of my favorite recipes here making it the very first recipe post of mine on the platform ❤️ This here is a true comfort food and with minimal ingredients, this is my go-to meal when I do not have the time to prep my ingredients. It’s a solid option to add to your rotational weeknight dinners, especially for people with hectic schedules. When you truly cannot afford to spend time cutting or chopping a whole bunch of veggies, or if you simply do not have the time to put together multiple dishes, try this one and you won’t be disappointed.

I decided to make this earlier this week, because guess what? I somehow managed to injure my eye. Remember when I said I was a klutz? Yeah. That. The thought of cooking almost made me cave and order in for the day, when this recipe came to mind, and in all honesty, came to my rescue. All I had to do was mince garlic and cut my cherry tomatoes in half, and that was all the prep that was required. The ingredient list is pretty basic and is mostly just pantry staples.


The recipe calls for:

  • Chicken breast (or generally, any boneless cut)
  • Dry seasonings of your choice (salt, pepper, Italian seasoning, chili flakes, oregano)
  • Cooking Oil/Butter
  • Garlic
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Spinach
  • Table cream
  • Parmesan
  • Lemon
  • Parsley (optional)
  • Spaghetti

WhatsApp Image 2022-04-10 at 9.17.32 PM.jpeg


A few notes before starting out:


Since I was cooking for 2, I just used one chicken breast cutlet, but you could increase or decrease the portion size accordingly.

As for the garlic, I used around 8-10 cloves of garlic. Looks like too much yea?? What can I say? If it’s not garlicky, it’s not for me. But you can decrease the amount as per your liking.

Grated parmesan is my usual choice of cheese, but since I was out of it, I used regular processed cheese this time. I noticed only a subtle difference, in terms of flavor, but I would still choose adding Parmesan over processed cheese, any day.

Let’s get started, shall we?

  • Season the chicken with your choice of seasoning. I used salt, a teaspoon of black pepper, ½ tsp chili flakes, 1 tsp Italian herb seasoning, 1 tsp smoked paprika, and the juice of half a lemon. You can increase or decrease the quantity of paprika and chili flakes based on your spice tolerance. You can also add some finely chopped green chillies, parsley or mint as well.

WhatsApp Image 2022-04-10 at 9.18.15 PM.jpeg

I added the paprika as an afterthought, but it gave the chicken the right amount of spice and smokiness.

  • While the chicken marinates, grate/mince 8-10 cloves of garlic, chop about 20-30 cherry tomatoes into halves, and cut the stem off of the spinach leaves. I used approximately 3 cups of spinach, packed. Wash the leaves and pat it dry with a kitchen towel

WhatsApp Image 2022-04-10 at 9.19.07 PM (1).jpeg

  • Add some oil to a pan and add 2 tbsp of butter. The oil ensures the butter does not burn. I used Extra Virgin olive Oil, but you can add any oil that has a neutral smell/taste. While keeping the stove flame high, add the marinated chicken breast to the pan. Let it sizzle and allow it to brown nicely on each side. 4 minutes on each side ensures the chicken has a flavorful brown crust on the top. Then reduce the flame to medium and let the chicken cook on the inside for another 5 minutes.
    Note: Chicken breast can be overcooked quite easily so if the cutlet you are using is a smaller portion, do reduce the cooking time accordingly.

  • Take the cooked chicken off the heat and let it rest for 10 minutes.

  • To the same pan, add a generous amount of butter (I used nearly 50g to deglaze the pan and get all the flavorful brown bits off the bottom). Add the minced garlic and sauté till light golden.

  • Add the cherry tomatoes and let it cook for about 4-5 minutes.

  • Add the spinach leaves to the pan, let it cook till the leaves are wilted.

WhatsApp Image 2022-04-10 at 9.21.39 PM.jpeg

  • Switch off the flame and add 1 cup of fresh cream/ table cream. Mix it well with the cherry tomatoes and spinach. Turn on the flame once again, continue cooking on medium heat.

WhatsApp Image 2022-04-10 at 9.27.14 PM (1).jpeg

  • In 3-4 minutes, add in the cheese. 100 g of grated parmesan works best with the recipe.

  • Season this mixture with salt (as per preference), 1 tsp of pepper, ½ tsp of chili flakes, 1 tsp of oregano, and 2 tsp of pasta mix/pasta seasoning.

  • Cut the chicken into bite sized pieces and add it to the pasta sauce. Let it cook for about 5-6 minutes.

WhatsApp Image 2022-04-10 at 9.28.07 PM (1).jpeg

  • While the sauce cooks, in a separate pot boil water. Add olive oil and salt to the water and cook the spaghetti according to packet instructions. (I used around 200g of spaghetti which took around 7-8 minutes to cook, al dente)

  • Save about a cup of the pasta water, and drain the spaghetti (The pasta water can be added to adjust the consistency of the sauce to your liking)

  • Add the spaghetti to the pasta sauce and mix till all elements are well incorporated.

  • Finish off with a dash of lime, and some fresh parsley or coriander.


Serving suggestions:

  • I topped off the dish with some extra virgin olive oil and some grated cheese.
  • I usually add some fried garlic chips to the dish, however I could not wait to dig in this time and missed out on it.
  • The dish could be topped off with some more oregano and chili flakes, as per preference

Thanks for sticking with me till the end! I do hope you'll give this recipe a shot. If you do, let me know in the comments below. Looking forward to some yummy pictures as well. Until next time fam, see ya!

Sort:  

Oh my this looks so delish!! 🤤

Thank you so much!❤️❤️

Next Time I Come Over You Making Me This!!!!!!! 😍

Of course! Come over soon then ❤️


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Your recipe looks very delicious.!!! 🤗

Thank you!❤️ If you do try it out, send me pictures😇

Congratulations @foodiechique! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This looks so good! 🤤❤

Try it out, you'll love it! 🤤❤️