Bitcoin is cool, but have you heard of pork?

I said in my intro post that I'd share some shorter posts. I'm making good on that now, sharing some excellent foods I've encountered lately.

IMG_20211124_020235819.jpg
My first ever skin-on pork chop.

I was hungry, so I cooked up my first ever skin-on pork chop. I will do better next time, but this was damn fine. Cooked in bacon grease and tallow with Himalayan salt, coarse black pepper, paprika, cumin, and sage. I sauteed some onions in the grease, then put some milk in the pan and reduced it til it was a thin sauce. It was delightful.

IMG_20211119_183318946.jpg
Yummy wine.

Melissa and I decided to splurge on a wine and beef steak meal recently. This wine was on sample at the store, so we tried it and liked it. They had it paired with a seasoning blend that we picked up as well. It was a hit, which is saying a lot because neither of us are particularly fond of red wines and Melissa hates whiskey. This is red wine aged in whiskey barrels.

IMG_20211120_144103514_HDR.jpg
Smoked turkeys.

This past weekend I had the opportunity to get out with one of our deacons at church who runs a food pantry. He got donated five hundred turkeys to smoke and hand out to families in need in our community. Over the last week or so he did half of them himself. Saturday he called in the cavalry and ten or so men showed up to help smoke the rest of them. It was awesome.

Short post with lots of food because food is a powerful tool for building community. Happy Thanksgiving y'all, I hope you're all able to eat like kings.

Sort:  

Everything about this post was awesome! We always joke around here that after producing and eating our own homegrown meat for years we just can't go back to public meat as my friend @jacobtothe calls it. That pork chop looks mighty tasty!

And your deacon is the coolest, along with everyone else who showed up to help finish the task, a fine Thanksgiving story indeed! Hope you and your family have a great day:)

food is a powerful tool for building community.

Agreed💯 😊

public meat. I love it. That sounds so elitist 🤣

Elitism is a fun thing in the food world. My motto here is "eat like a king," but I literally can't afford to eat how I want to eat. And I make $35/hr. That's why I raise food. So how elitist is it to raise my own food and encourage others to bite and claw and scrounge in order to eat the best food on Earth?

I should make that a post. I think I will. Thanks!

It does! It's really fun to say to people when you are covered in manure, wearing purple bellbottoms tucked into your barn boots, and have a big wad of baling twine hanging out of your sweatshirt, lol lol!

I hope you made that post!?(I'll go check in a minute!) Amazing food shouldn't be elitist or exclusive! I've spent most of my adult life trying to produce awesome food as frugally and sustainably as possible. Still got a long way to go, but dangit it's a worthy goal!

Love, love, love your motto and food aims:)

Nah, haven't made it yet, gimme a week or so. I'm not so focused on quantity of posts like I used to be. Quality is paying pretty well here lately.

I shall look forward to it, and I totally hear ya regarding post quantity. I do not like nor try to ever post a fecal matter offering. Quality is most definitely the way to go:)