Tasty Sunday #10: Simple Homemade Rice Milk

orez.png

Hello foodies! It's time for another cheat day with one of the easiest and quickest recipes I know when I feel the need to eat something sweet but don't have many options to pick from and I'm not in the mood to go shopping, lol.

This also comes as a throwback since most likely many people out there used to have this food when they were kids either if we talk about Rice Milk or Semolina Milk because they are pretty in the same direction in my opinion. 😄

  • 750ml milk
  • 250ml water
  • some cocoa
  • 200g rice
  • 80-100g sugar
  • 1Tbs of rum essence
  • optional: vanilla essence, the peel of a lemon, cinnamon etc

The first step I usually do is to wash the rice to make sure it doesn't come with any sort of impurities and then drain this one before adding it to the pot along with the 250ml of water and a pinch of salt.
The method used for this recipe is 1:4, meaning one cup of rice with 4 of liquid which in this case I've split into one cup of water and 3 of milk.

This is enough for having 4 servings at the end of the recipe but depending on how much you want to prepare, it's easy to make a quick calculation and adjust the ingredients.

After the rice is added to the water you need to leave it on medium heat until the water starts to boil.
From that moment it's just a matter of time until the rice will absorb the entire liquid from the pot, in my case, never taking any longer than 4-5 minutes until this step is completed.
However, make sure to mix the composition from time to time to avoid having the rice stick on the walls of the pot.

When the entire liquid was absorbed by the rice, you can add the 750ml of milk and mix a little bit more often this time because the rice will tend to get stick to the walls of the pot faster now.

Photo_1659867858830.jpg
Photo_1659867864738.jpg

Click on the images to see them in full resolution

As soon as the milk starts to boil, reduce the heat to the minimum and add the sugar along with any other essences you might consider for a bonus of taste. Usually, I add either vanilla essence or vanilla sugar but this time I used rum essence which did make the whole recipe have a more delicious taste.

From the moment you reduce the heat to the minimum until everything will be ready, it takes maximum 10 minutes. When everything is ready, add a lid to the pot and let it rest for 20-30 minutes so the rice will become more fluffy and with not too much liquid. However, keep in mind that it's perfectly fine to have the rice not entirely cooked and keep it slightly crunchy to have a perfect recipe.

After the food rested enough, I added some cocoa powder for a more beautiful plating but also for a bonus of taste but this step is completely optional. Some people prefer cinnamon on top of the rice milk.
Honestly, this is perhaps one of the best sweets you can enjoy no matter if it's cold or hot outside because it can be enjoyed both when the food is warm or being taken out of the fridge, so make sure to try this recipe if you never did before. I'm sure you won't regret it! 😊

What's your childhood food recipe?

Preparing + cooking time: 20 mins

Don't forget to check out the rest of my posts too, from travelling to gaming, from photography to film reviews and more! ❤️

FIND ME ON:
Blog: http://gabrielastravels.wordpress.com/
Fiverr: https://www.fiverr.com/gabrielatv/
Discord: GabrielaTravels#0104
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gabrielaistraveling/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/gabiivdesign
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/GabrielaTravels/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/GabrielaTravels
Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/GabrielaTravels

Sort:  

Waaahh we also have similar recipe here and we call it champorado. We also cook the rice not with milk- but with cacao. After it’s cooked, that’s the only time we add the milk or sugar as some people don’t want milk in their champorado. It makes me feel comfort knowing other places like yours have this as well, since I feel it’s quite weird saying we add chocolate in our rice to someone from other countries😳. Hahah

Wooow, that's so cool! Actually I love having cocoa in my rice cake while my boyfriend prefers it simple, but I'd definitely try the recipe for champorado because I'm a fan of cocoa and chocolate in general.

I was also a little bit in doubt if I should post this recipe or not because I expected not to find many fans out there unless they are Romanians and had a similar childhood memory with this meal, lol, but now I'm happy I did because it's a great surprise to find out that there are more who know what I'm talking about! 😁

Maybe you should post the recipe for champorado one day, I'll definitely be the first to try it out ❤️

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Rice milk it's really yummy 🤤

Totally agree! I wish I could eat this more often, lol!

My! that looks good.😍 This is my daughter's favorite. Sometimes she would also prefer cacao added to it. Now I want to make this too! It's been raining and I don't want to go shopping. Thanks for sharing and serves as reminder as well😃

It's one of my favourite homemade sweets too! So I guess I have something in common with your daughter, haha ❤️

I'd love to see the results if you make this!