You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Jamaican Jerk Chicken Thighs

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

I'm used to making my jerk marinade using wet ingredients. Your recipe looks like the flavour profile would be excellent, but it would be missing the heat.

I recommend replacing the garlic powder, onion powder and cayenne pepper with about 1.5c of green onions, 2-4 minced garlic cloves and 1-2 minced scotch bonnets (or habanero). I'd likely replace the salt with then add about 1/3c of soy sauce (or maybe fish sauce), then the juice of a couple of limes. Put everything in a blender and puree - if it's too thick (you want it runny), add the juice of another lime. Then marinate the chicken in it.

Here's a link to what I think would be a fairly authentic recipe.
Jamaicna Jerk Chicke Recipe

The problem when making the jerk marinade is that it's so hot, it's hard to taste to see if you've got it right.

Bon apetit!!!!

Sort:  

Hey @gikitiki, here is a little bit of BEER from @jacobtothe for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I'll have to experiment more when I'm cooking just for myself. Thanks!

!BEER