Making Yema Balls

img_0.5375587919555731.jpg

Yema is Philippine's soft candy made from egg yolk and condense milk. Its name is derived from the Spanish word for "egg yolk."

Growing up, I fondly remember that our house helpers made homemade yema for us. This pandemic, the beautiful memory of yema making crossed my mind. And I want my little one to experience my childhood experience too. Thus, we made our very own Filipino candies at home!

It's an easy peasy recipe, anyone can do! Here's how:

Ingredients

7 pieces egg yolks
1 can condensed milk (14 oz.)
3 tablespoons butter
5 tablespoons chopped peanuts
White sugar, to coat

Instructions

img_0.2127941917606112.jpg

  • Beat the egg yolk. Combine the egg yolks and condensed milk. Mix well.

  • Add chopped peanuts. Whisk until well blended.

img_0.7996413603884135.jpg

  • Melt butter in a cooking pan. Pour the egg yolk mixture into it.

  • In a low fire, continue to stir until the consistency becomes very thick.

  • Let it cool down.

img_0.5352391823710909.jpg

  • Once cooled down, pinch a small portion from the mixture then shape them into balls and roll into the plate with sugar to coat.

img_0.4133855592680418.jpg

And it's ready!!! You have a yummy, chewy candies that children would love go back for seconds and thirds! 🤣 Enjoy! 😍😍

img_0.02454559297744981.jpg

My little one enjoyed rolling the yema balls into the white sugar for coating. He enjoyed his role. And sometimes took some bites in between work! Hahaha!

It's all a sublimely beautiful Sunday to be able to cook some yummy treat with my kid! Hope you have a terrific Sunday as well.

This is an entry to #SublimeSunday by @c0ff33a and to #BeautifulSunday by @ace103.

text16.png

I am a proud supporter of:

@curangel, @qurator.

text16.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif

#MarketFriday by @dswigle


created by @derangedvisions

Sort:  

Oh, I think that's very sweet. Nice one for children

Yes, it is. It's for children. 😍 But the yolks and nuts absorb the sweetness too.

Oooh wow those look yummy would love to be able to try them, hmmmm I'm salivating as it is already

Oh yes, it's yummy! And very, very easy to do. You should try this one, my friend! 😍

Sounds very sweet but yummy. Do you think it would to add some salt un for a balance like thet salted caramel which had becoming very popular in recent years?

Honestly, I do not know. This is the childhood recipe I know of yema. Hahaha! And I didn't make innovations about it. But maybe salted yema would do. Hmmm, why not give it a try? 😁

Looks sweet since there's already condensed milk but I guess we can control the amount of sugar.

The sugar is just for coating, so that the yema balls will not stick to each other.

That is such a perfect treat for today. I make something really similar and we love them!!!!

!tip

🎁 Hi @gingbabida! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.