Summer's Strange Kitchen - Pink Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

in Foodies Bee Hive4 months ago (edited)

Hello and happy Tuesday!

This little cake was made with the leftover cake batter and cream cheese frosting I had after baking cupcakes. Those didn't survive long enough for me to take photos of. (Or even have one, if we are being honest)

The following recipe yielded 8 medium sized generously frosted cupcakes and one 20cm (7") single layer cake. (I ran out of baking paper, which is why I didn't just make more muffins!)

Recipe

Ingredients

Cake

  • 113g butter (1/2 Cup)
  • 120g (1/2 Cup) Oil
  • 300g (1 1/2 Cup) Sugar
  • 4 Eggs
  • 1/2 Tablespoon Vanilla Essence
  • 1/2 Tablespoon Caramel Essence
  • 375g (3 Cups) Flour
  • 1 Tablespoon Baking Powder
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Salt
  • 300ml (1 1/4 Cup) Buttermilk (Alt Add 1 1/2 Teaspoons of lemon juice to milk, set aside for 1 hour, then use as buttermilk)
    -Red food colouring

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 113g (1/2 Cup) Butter
  • 226g Cream Cheese
  • 1 Teaspoon Caramel Essence
  • 1/4 teaspoon Salt
  • 500g (4 Cups) Powdered Sugar

Frosting Instructions :

-Using electric mixer, whip together butter, cream cheese, caramel essence and salt
-Add powdered sugar and beat till light and fluffy

Cake Instructions :

-In large bowl, combine and whisk together Flour, Baking Powder & Salt

-In large bowl using electric mixer, beat together oil and butter till well blended.

-Beat in sugar

-Add eggs

-Add food dye, then beat to combine

-Add dry ingredients, mix by hand till just combined, do not overmix.

-As always, I need to mention that all my baking is done in an air fryer, my oven broke and due to ongoing renovations to my house, can only be replaced at a later stage.

Recommended bake at 180C /360F in preheated oven or according to the settings you usually use for baking in air fryer (mine tends to be around 150C for 20-40 minutes, 20 for cupcakes, 40 for cakes)

This little cake looked very unimpressive, which is why I decided to paint a heart on it, using more food dye.

This cake also freezes well!

Well, that's it for today.

Till next time! Stay positive and creative!

Credit - All photos are my own
Banner Created using Adobe Express

Sort:  

ooooooh!! that looks fantastic! I need to do some baking this week <3

🤪🤪CAKE!!!!

Sy moet kyk die cake.

Thank you so much for that recipe, @hellsveiah! It looks so good. I love the color btw!!♡

😁Hope you enjoy it! Thank you, I was going to make red velvet cake, then I realised I only had the pinkish dye and no cacao powder 🤭 Have a wonderful day ❤️