Nyonya Colors Vibrant Food

We went to Nyonya Colors after meeting up with brother at a mall. There are few branches and this is one of them, always our go-to because of the many choices of small bites and snacks as well as main food of rice dish or noodle dish.

First of all, the word nyonya is from 'The Baba and Nyonya' people. Nyonya or Chinese Peranakan are descendants of early Chinese migrants who settled in Penang, Malacca, Singapore and Indonesia, inter-marrying with local Malays. In Baba Malay, a female Peranakan is known as a nonya (also spelled nyonya), and a male Peranakan is known as a baba.~Wikipedia

We love nyonya food.

Nyonya food is unique due to the result of blending Chinese ingredients with various spices and cooking techniques used by the Malay/Indonesian community. This creates the wonderful the Peranakan way of Malay/Indonesian food that is similarly aromatic, flavourful, spicy, tangy and sometimes herbal.

Nyonya Colors


This is not a big shop but comfortable enough for seating and dining. Always love the decorations at Nyonya Colors. I actually have few albums of Nyonya Colors from different branches because I love it so much. Let's cover this one at The Mid Valley Mall at Kuala Lumpur.

I think this one is suitable for individual 'lepak' corner whereby you want to have a space alone to do work or to relax, while not feeling like you are being surrounded by people.

Then the sofa area with these two beauties as your background. We sat here because we needed a bigger table for the boys to do their drawing.

The tiffin carriers and pots and teapots section. I wanted to go nearer to take a close-up photos but I couldn't or else I needed to squeezed through in between two tables.

Even all the chairs have Baba Nyonya decorations. How wonderful. I only took two or else I would be disturbing everyone.

It was long queue and a bit crowded as it was lunch hour for the working people in the mall. Everyone placed order fast so I couldn't have slow time to capture everything. But this was what I got. Their menu hanging there.

Super a lot of varieties of 'kuih-muih' which are our famous sweet snacks or small bites in between meal, with coffee or tea or just eat alone. We love 'kuih-muih' alot. Like, a lot!!!

We got for the youngest one two layer kuih, tapioca kuih, and banana fritters. Husband also added otak-otak (the one wrapped up in a leave). 'Teh Tarik' aka hot milk pulled tea for husband and I, soymilk with grass jelly for the boys. Oh yes, half boiled eggs too for the young boy.

Otak-otak a dish of fish steamed with egg and coconut milk, with ingredients such as chilli, spices and a kind of vegetables inside. So flavourful and appetizing.

The eldest said he wanted nasi lemak in conjunction of celebrating our Independence Day. Nasi lemak is like our national food. Rice cooked in coconut milk, usually comes with egg, roasted anchovies and peanuts and sambal our chilli paste. He chose the chicken rendang one. Veryyyyy yummy.

I got myself dry curry noodle and husband got himself 'mee rebus' which is boiled noodle in a flavourful sauce. My bowl of curry was so thick and delicious because it was the dry type. I truly enjoyed every mouthful of it. It also came with two big pieces of chicken, beancurd puffs and some beansprouts.

The food here never disappoint. In fact, everytime when my parents are here, they will ask me to bring them to Nyonya Colors because we can't find it at Sarawak. There are many other food and kuih-muih which I couldn't cover as our stomachs weren't that big to order so many food. It is advisable to come here with friends and family so that you could order more food, and everyone get to eat variety.


.
.
.
.
.
📷📷📷
All images are mine unless stated otherwise, photos are taken using my phone Hua Wei P20.

img_0.8886483932437368
img_0.3064244915296772Hello there, I am the lady behind this little space of my blog in this awesome vast Hive blockchain. Often, when I blog, read, curate and get to know new people, I feel that I am no longer stucked inside the four-wall of my apartment, but rather, I am travelling all across the world, just like a little heaven-on-earth experience. Hope you enjoy reading this snippet of my life as I enjoy exploring yours. Thank you for swinging by.

img_0.6393366722164829

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

This looks like the Nyonya Color in Midvalley 😁

I love this place so much!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @taco.cat on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png