Pretzel Mania Turned Into A Full Course Meal - Grilled Ribeye!!

jt1wia.jpg

It wasn't my intention to have a double presentation but one thing led to another. First we made, or rather, my wife and kids made Soft Pretzels. I documented the whole affair by camera.

Next thing I know, the steaks we picked up today were ready for the grill. Might as well make it a double feature!

I was outside just enjoying the day when I notice some dough rolling going on in the kitchen. It was my son Devin hard at work.

619lpr.jpg

pif5sp.jpg

What in tarnation is that kid doing? That's exactly what I thought and it became apparent in short order. He was rolling dough into noodle-like shapes to make Pretzels!

2gkzlq.jpg

And of course, my wife was manning (ladying?) the stove with a pan of water and baking soda.

The pretzel formed dough drops into the water to boil. 30 seconds on one side and 30 seconds on the other.

31imii.jpg

pgp55q.jpg

Once out of the boiling water, the pretzels go onto a baking sheet. When they are all boiled they get basted with a beaten egg and covered in Coarse Sea Salt.

0r15ld.jpg

kezzea.jpg

9mwort.jpg

At this point, the final step is to put the Soft Pretzels in the oven to bake. Preheat to 450 degrees and cook 10 - 15 minutes depending on how brown you like them.

25to9l.jpg

Pull those babies out and Presto! Home made Soft Pretzels to make your mouth water.

6vqniw.jpg

It doesn't take much to make the dough for the pretzels. You do have to keep moving since yeast is involved once you start the process. Your basic ingredients are all below, minus the water and a half stick of butter.

Stick to the recipe in the article below if you have any uncertainties. Note that my wife substituted the butter instead of using oil.

https://tasty.co/recipe/homemade-soft-pretzels

ea0i7w.jpg

Followed By Grilled Ribeye, Corn On The Cob, Salad, & Mash Potatoes

Like I said, I wasn't ready for anymore documentation of food or anything else. I can hardly believe I have the energy to put this post together, I'm so full.

Since I did have to cook the steaks, I figured what the hoo!! Here they are just getting started on high heat.

npwvdl.jpg

Corn on the cob seasoned with butter, salt, pepper, and wrapped in foil sit on the top shelf above. As for the Ribeye steaks, we used a blend of two seasoning mixes for flavor.

5m3xb5.jpg

While the steaks were nearing completion, the lady was putting together the other dishes to complete the dinner. Put the teamwork together and we had an awesome meal on hand.

1mrp1p.jpg

Once again, getting the young autistic one to stay at the table is hit and miss at best. My good lady seems to find a way out of the pics as well. At least this time she managed the camera so I could be in the shot!

I said I was stuffed and you can easily see why. Thank goodness I only had two bites of the pretzel. One with a jalapeno cheese spread and another with plain mustard. They were good but there's no more room in da belly.

3zz5rt.jpg

Sure hope you enjoyed the double food presentation and food ensemble. Let me know if there are any questions and I'll get you the answer pronto.

Happy Hiveing!!!

@inalittlewhile

Images Courtesy Of My Galaxy S10+
Bottom Image Courtesy Of Hive.io Brand Assets

i33dy9.jpg

Sort:  

Iam very hungry and I saw your sharing. Mouth watering..

Thank you. I'd share some if I could. 😁👍

Man, those pretzels looked so tasty in the oven. Haven't ate some looking that good since I was living in Germany. Do you know how they're named over there? Bretzel...

Bretzel. That's cool. I'd like to visit Germany someday. My wife spent a lot of time in the summers here, over there. Her dad was stationed there for several years. 👍

It's nice, I lived there for about one year and two months but, don't expect anything spectacular. German style... with not too much English.

Back when she was really young. I recently got my Passport so at least we are both ready to travel now. Or later or whatever.

Great job!!

Thank you! 😁