FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY | Can Red Turnips be eaten raw ?

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

It's been a while since my last post on #fruitsandveggiesmonday. Work has been piling up and not moving as smoothly as I had wanted it to be. I'm also mentally tired with all the additional stress at work not to mention it's the year end festive period which just hits the heart hard. Most of the time, I would spend this season with my family, preparing for our Christmas shopping and planning for both Christmas & New Year dinners. But this year, it's just me alone here and it is just hard.

Anyhow, I try to keep myself busy with WORK but still allowing myself to relax occasionally by doing my usual weekend marketing at the local wet market. I don't cook as much as I do ever since moving into my new apartment. I realised I haven't been doing much except for work, sleep and watch tv since moving here. Not sure why the change in my lifestyle but I need to get out from this routine.

Good thing about my grocery shopping last weekend was finding these small red turnips. I doubt I've seen it before being sold here. Of course the color and size caught my attention and I stopped to take a closer look of it.

IMG_20201205_075152.jpg

Displayed nicely on a plastic basket and laid on the streets, these red turnips was definite an eye catcher amongst the rest of the vegetables. I've never bought turnips before as I didn't know how to cook them. But, I do recall that it can be eaten raw like added on to a salad dish.

IMG_20201205_075122.jpg

I decided to give it a try and buy a few numbers of these red turnips. After all, I can always refer to Mr Google for help on recipes that included turnips. How wrong can I go, right ? If not, worst case, I can always eat it along with other vegetables as salad.

IMG_20201205_075131.jpg

This is a close-up look of these tiny red turnips. Aren't they a pleasant sight to enjoy and enticing enough for anyone to buy? I did eat one when I got home. It has a slight bitter taste to it, not sure if it's suppose to taste like that but it's definitely crunchy and slightly juicy. Definitely best to eat with some salad dressing to take the bitterness away.


I'll definitely share more in my next post. Hope you enjoy my photo taken from my Huawei

xvkj4fvznj.png

Come & join FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY by @lenasveganliving
• Take and post at least 3 photos of fruits and vegetables. (It can be variety or just one kind from the garden, supermarket or anywhere you wish, PLANT BASED RECIPES ARE WELCOMED).
• One entry only!!!
• PLEASE MAKE SURE THE ENTRY IS 100% ORIGINAL CONTENT!!! (images and text)
• Text must be at least 100 words.
• Use hashtag #fruitsandveggiesmonday
• Mention the creator @lenasveganliving, the host @plantstoplanks and the title FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY

Sort:  

@ireenchew, Red Turnips are looking like Onions to some extent. Hope that Pleasant Balance will arrive in your life. Stay blessed.

thanks so much @chireerocks..
I do pray for some balance in life

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png