Lotus Bean Soup For Rainy Days, Perfect For Vegetarians

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago (edited)

May 13, 2022

IMG_20220512_071914.jpg

It's been raining since the second day of the week making the temperature decline. Many would certainly want to curl under bedsheets while binge-watching or listening to favorite songs. Along with this kind of weather is a craving for something hot and yummy.

These Chinese family at home love soup and I started to love it too because of them. Every time they will cook a soup, I am always willing to lend a helping hand. Because why not? My soup will gonna be free 😁. Besides, I'm like a part of this family too since we are all living under the roof.

We usually cook soup with meat, either pork or chicken. But what I love the most are those perfect for vegetarians, no meat included.

Are you a vegan or vegetarian? Then this soup is perfect for you. Rich in flavors and nutrients, especially protein and fiber. Yummy and healthy, easy to cook as well.

Let's start cooking this Lotus Bean Soup For Rainy Days, Perfect For Vegetarian

The main ingredients are:

IMG_20220504_105717.jpg

  • Lotus root
  • Carrot
  • Corn
  • Chestnut
  • Mixed beans and nuts (you can choose the kinds of beans you want to add to your soup)

Additional ingredients for a more nutritious soup:

IMG_20220504_111918.jpg

  • Barley seeds
  • Dried brown dates (act as a natural sweetener)
  • Dried tangerine peel (for additional scent and flavor)

Preparation

  • Gather all ingredients and rinse the mixed beans and nuts

IMG_20220504_104856.jpg

  • In a small pot, boil the chest for a few minutes. Remove the skin while it's hot and rinsed them. (Don't let the chestnut cool down, or else, it would be hard for you to remove the skin)

IMG_20220512_112710.jpg

  • Peel the lotus root, cut it into chunks, and rinse them well. (Make sure to remove mud and black particles.)

IMG_20220512_112559.jpg

  • Peel the corn and cut it into 6 parts and the carrot into small to medium size chunks.

IMG_20220512_112644.jpg

  • Soak the dried tangerine peel until it softens and wash other ingredients.

IMG_20220504_112204.jpg

  • In a huge pot, save water and put all ingredients into it. Let it boil for 1½ to 2 hours.

IMG_20220504_113432.jpg

There are 4 people at home and this soup usually lasts up to 2 days (lunch and dinner).


This soup is one of the authentic Chinese soup recipes and is usually served in many Chinese restaurants. Aside from being flavorful, it is packed with nutrients and a great choice for those on a diet and vegetarians, even for vegans.

IMG_20220512_120011.jpg

So gather all ingredients and try this one. You will definitely love this!

IMG_20220512_115935.jpg

You can check out my other food blogs

Chinese Chicken Recipes With Earthly Flavors

IMG_20220423_184304.jpg

No Deep Fry Tomato-Pineapple Meatballs

IMG_20220325_141042.jpg

A Simple Chinese Pici Noodles Recipe

IMG_20220311_135945.jpg

My First Successful Bread Baking

Picsart_22-03-11_10-05-32-092.jpg

Simple and Healthy Banana Bread

IMG_20220314_124323.jpg

Enjoy and happy cooking!

20220311_130001_0000.png

Follow me on:

HIVE
read.cashnoise.cashTwitterPublish0xTorum

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1524926036655640576 twitter metadata:S2F3c2FyaGFzYW58fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20vS2F3c2FyaGFzYW4vc3RhdHVzLzE1MjQ5MjYwMzY2NTU2NDA1NzZ8 ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I don't think I've ever tried lotus root or maybe I have and I don't know, hehe. But you've piqued my curiosity. At the weekend, I will try to go to the Chinese market to see if I can find some and try making this soup.

Try it. You can omit other ingredients and add alternatives in case you can't find them in the market.

Yes, I'll see what I can get. Lately, the Chinese market here is well stocked. So maybe I'll find everything ;)

Nice..then share it here 😁

Ok, hehe I will 😄

I've never seen a lotus root before. It looks very interesting with those little holes. 😊 I really like this recipe, especially the combination of chestnuts, corn and nuts. I would love to try it, I think it tastes fantastic. But I can't find the lotus root anywhere.

Maybe in countryside 😅

One serving here please? I could use it on a cold day like today, hehe. That sure looks yummy and good for the tummy, sis. Nakakamiss din yung ganyang sabaw.
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ifarmgirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @jane1289 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (3/7 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thank you.. So healthy pa kc no meat 😁

Sarap nyan. Although gusto ko din pag may meat, lol!

Congratulations @jane1289! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Definitely something new, octopus 🐙 in it will just be perfect. what do you suggest?

Omg everything looks so good 😻😻

Yup it is 😁

Masarap! 🤤

How did you know that word? Haha..

I am a different kind of puti lol. Filipino culture has always been very close to me. I also cook Sinigang, pork bbq, Menudo...Believe it or not, I love Balut too!

Wow. I don't even eat balut 🤣. I pity the fetus chick inside 🤣. So are you half Filipino? Or do you have a Filipina wife? 😅..

Yes my fiancee is Filipino and my 4 year old daughter is half. I grew up with many Filipinos too. I was well versed in the culture long before my relationship. As for Balut, the 1st time I had it, it was pressured by my friends parents. My 1st one was a tabachoy too lol. I ended up liking it a lot. I have probably eaten a hundred of them now. Most of my friends do not eat the chick so I just eat it with their parents 🤣.

🤣🤣. I rather eat the parent chicken 🤣🤣
Your fiance is lucky then. .her future husband doesn't need to adjust to our culture.. You are well versed already haha