Preparing for my foray into solo Thanksgiving cooking

20231121_091557.jpg
Chef Jeraldo
I'm sure there are several close by who would invite me over, but I am not really in the sociable mood.
I bought a WHOLE CHICKEN a couple of weeks ago, froze it, then last night I thawed it slowly.
I looked up the method for Brining your bird, so this morning I got fresh thyme, rosemary and lemon oregano, lots of salt & pepper, and oddly on a whim, I put in some Jasmine Tea (whole) Brought that up to a boil, then let it cool, so now after washing my bird, it is in the brining mix for an overnight bath

20231121_091813.jpg

20231121_113219.jpg
I feel sure most people think of the dressing/stuffing they grew up with is the best, and I am the same.
I've had people make "Oyster Dressing" (Eww Yuck) but not for me.


Mama's dressing consisted or Hoecake cornbread, crumbled

20231121_090516.jpg
(I just spoke with my older sister yesterday who reminded me of the ingredients and proportion of them to make this corn bread, I could hardly avoid eating it)
White Rice

20231121_091958.jpg
I praise God mama taught me how to cook perfect rice.
She also included chopped onion, the cooked giblets (the organs chopped up) and the juice from that cooking, and boiled egg.
I was never fond of Giblet Gravy, but it is necessary for the flavor and binding/moisture of the dressing.
Just to be faithful to that recipe, I am also including ONE boiled ayg ha ha
So I've done her one up, I have red and white onion chopped, plus celery

20231121_113231.jpg
There is also an Anaheim Pepper from my garden in there, no heat just flavor
Crumble some of the cornbread

20231121_115452.jpg
So now this is waiting on the giblet stuff, but I think it will sit in the fridge overnight. I don't want anything to spoil before I finish this assembly


Mama's hoe cake cornbread
Almost half and half cornmeal and flour, a little more cornmeal.

note, my sister said to use self rising flour AND self rising cornmeal.
The hoecakes need to be yellow for authenticity, otherwise you might think you were eating a pancake.
I did not have self rising flour or yellow cornmeal, so I used half yellow and half white (self rising) cornmeal, AND I added a small amount of baking powder.
That seemed to do the trick

20231121_090524.jpg
Get your pan good and hot with your choice of vegetable oil
Get those dry ingredients in a bowl with the one raw egg, start mixing with cold water until you get a consistency that will pour

20231121_090650.jpg
Watch for it to begin to form bubbles around the edge,

20231121_090816.jpg
When it rises, and starts bubbles nearer the center, that is the sign that you can turn it

20231121_090850.jpg
Don't have your pan TOO hot, you don't want it to burn, this will be up to you as a matter of experimentation. Flipping it too soon will cause it to break, let it go too long and it will get kinda burned

20231121_090918.jpg
Jes purfecto!


"Thanksgiving Bird part one"

by
Jerry E Smith
©11/21/2023
Continued tomorrow:
All these photos were taken today by me
Using my cellphone
Badges.jpg


20231121_091550.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! Lovely and delicious 😋

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you all for your help and encouragement

Looking forward to part 2.... 😁😋

Since it is not a large turkey, I may get it out of the brine solution tonight to let it dry.
IOW it may be sooner than expected ha ha
Thanks @ackhoo

This is a great one you have done and I am sure the meal will be a delicious one. Thanks for sharing.

If I can stop nibbling before it is done, there won't be anything left for tomorrow ha ha

Lol😄😄😄😄 I finally missed that show time, will anticipate for another time, enjoy my friend.

It is just now about ready to come outta da oven, more pictures and a video ensue

Alrit then no problem

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Vote for our witness @sagarkothari88

Thanks @sirenahippie and all the good folks there at FoodiesUnite.net

Hi @jerrytsuseer

I hope you have a great Thanksgiving. It's nice to see how you preserve your mom's recipes. I remember that the first post that I cured you was precisely a recipe for your mother. Hugs!

It is just now about ready to come outta da oven, more pictures and a video ensue

Unique recipes that are done from scratch, are my preferred way of cooking and eating.
I love this, and you seemed to have enjoyed the process.
Happy Wednesday Jerry:)

It is just now about ready to come outta da oven, more pictures and a video ensue

See me drooling here already 😋 the meal looks delicious.

It is just now about ready to come outta da oven, more pictures and a video ensue

Wow! I am looking forward to it then

Woooww!!, Im sure its delicious.