Smoked Red Carribean Snapper

I went to the supermarket which sold fresh fish and there was a sale on red snapper fish. The fish was pretty big and I decided to smoke it rather than bake, fry or broil it. I also wanted to use some fresh herbs from my garden too.

A friend sent me a picture of his dinner which consisted of a red snapper that had been grilled with fresh herbs, lemon and tomatoes that looked delicious. I decided to use some fresh rosemary, lemon balm, and lemons in my version.

image.png

The fish was smoked in an electric smoker using applewood chips. Applewood chips give a milder flavor than hickory or pecan wood which I also use sometimes for meat.

image.png

The lemon balm and rosemary from my garden added additional flavor. I've only used lemon balm in tea prior to this dish. I had to make sure that it was ok to use in the fish before I cooked it, so I goggled recipes with lemon balm.

image.png

I cut slits in the outside of the fish so that the smokey flavor could penetrate the flesh. I also inserted some thinly sliced lemons in the slits. I used a little salt, some smoked paprika, and a little garlic powder.

The fish was delicious! I took it out of the smoker too soon and had to put it back in for a few minutes. I was smoking it at 275 degrees Fahrenheit for 30 minutes. I will definitely try this again, but next time, I will cook it longer.

Enjoy your day.

image.png