Some of My Family's Favorite Food

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

I would like to share with you some of the food that we love here in our family in Bohol. These are just five but I have more to share in the future. For now, I have only seen these in my mobile photo gallery so I thought it would be best to share it with you before I could delete these photographs. Oh, I realized, I don't delete images, I archive them instead!

First on the list is the famous

"Chicken Adobo"

20201223_115306.jpg

Except that this one is a native chicken. My father has a little backyard farm where he has native chickens which he loves dearly because, in a few months, they become our viand. I personally have never tried culling a chicken and I have no plans of doing so in the near future. I felt bad for the chicken so I pass on that task instead to other members of the family.

My father's chicken adobo is my favorite. An adobo is a recipe with simple ingredients, soy sauce, vinegar, pepper, calamansi, salt, and sometimes sugar. I always love adobo with less sauce and a little oily.

This is

"Ginataang Manok"

20201223_115316.jpg

My father usually culls male chickens and then prepares a part of it for Adobo and the other part as ginataan which means a dish done with coconut milk. This is always a good recipe. Anything that has gata or coconut milk is a sure win. Plus, we add moringa leaves in it to make it even nutritious.

Most of the time if we have this for lunch or dinner, I would be eating tons of rice with it. Super tasty indeed!

Next is the very basic

"Kinilaw"

20210324_071658.jpg

Kinilaw or Ceviche is another dish that is part of my favorites, or should I say our family's favorite. I guess everything that my father prepares is our favorite. He is very good with cooking which unfortunately, I wasn't able to inherit.

Anyway, the kinilaw is mad of fresh fish meat, deboned and then cooked in native vinegar. This native vinegar is colored red! There are also spices added into it and chilis would be a perfect part of the dish to add a kick to it.

Fried Chicken

20210324_182800.jpg

You might say, oh that chicken is very thin! That is because this is a native chicken and these types of chicken do not usually have a thick body structure. They are free ranged too so that explains why they didn't grow much meat.

This is pretty simple, after cleaning and cutting the parts, we just season it and then deep fry. This is still very tasty and we could again eat tons of rice, it is best to be paired with some hot sauce too!

Now, let's go to a snack:

Puto Maya and Sikwate

20210208_152315.jpg

My mother influenced me to love Puto Maya and Sikwate. Puto Maya is a sticky rice and I don't have an idea how it is cooked though but it is really a good pair with a hot chocolate or sikwate. We locally sourced our tableya and they are definitely great!

I miss eating Puto Maya as we have not gone to the market lately due to the pandemic restrictions. I guess I will have to request my husband to buy some for me tomorrow.

That's it. I will share more in the following days.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

kani jud last akong pinaka ganahan puto ug sikwate, ok rag dili mamahaw basta naa ning pares.

ngsige jd ko crave ana karon sir.hehe mayta mkapalit soon ig sunday..