Gata Series | Ginataang Sitaw & Kalabasa

Good Day Hivers!
Welcome to my second blog on the Gata Series!
A simple combination of
Squash + String Beans + Coconut Cream + Shrimp for a creamy flavorful viand.



What is Gata?

Gata is coconut cream. So ginataan means cooked in coconut cream.

If you find it hard to squeeze the cream from a grated mature coconut meat, there are coconut cream in can or in pouch available in the market.


For today's recipe, you will need the following:

-Squash - cleaned and diced
-String Beans - cut small
-Shrimp - 1/2 kg will do
-Coconut Cream
-Green Eye Chilies
-Ginger - cut into small/tiny strips
-Onions
-Optional: Dehydrated Small shrimps, Green Eye Chili (not spicy)

I got green eye chilies from a coworker. It's a variety that isn't spicy but has that distinct taste of a green eye chili.
Also, when I went to the grocery, I got a pack of dehydrated shrimps in lieu of a shrimp paste. It adds flavor to the viand.


How to prepare:

  1. Heat oil in a pan.
  2. Add ginger then stir until medium cooked.
  3. Add onions and stir until onions turn transparent.
  4. Add coconut cream and let boil.
  5. After a few minutes, add squash and string beans. Add salt or fish sauce. Cover the pan and let it boil until half-cooked.
  6. In this version, I waited for the squash and string beans to be half-cooked before I added the non-spicy green eye chilies. I also add a small amount of brown sugar to add flavor and balance the saltiness.
  7. Then add the shrimps and the spicy green eye chilies.

8.Cover. Let it boil then mix.
9.Taste and adjust taste if needed.

Serve and enjoy!


📌Hi. I'm Cate and this is my second blog using gata/coconut cream. I'm sharing recipes you can try and serve to your family too.

It is my first time preparing this and so far, my family liked it. I've been seeing this food in restaurants and decided to try it on my own. I just added a few ingredients I found at home.

I opted not to put measurements because I want you to try it on your own too and adjust the ingredient according to your liking.

i.e.: In this recipe, I used 2 cups of coconut cream because I like it creamy but you may use only one cup.

I also added the non-spicy green eye chilies but it is optional.

Just remember, in everything you do, do it with love. In cooking, it adds flavor. ❤️

Let's eat! Chow!🍛


Sort:  

Oh nice
That's something really new I came across today.

Congratulations you received an ecency upvote through the curator @ahmedhayat. Keep spreading love through ecency

Thank you so much🙏

Congratulations @katey-cate! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 8000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2024 Winners List

Thank you @hivebuzz!

You can do it @katey-cate! Keep pushing yourself and reaching for the stars on Hive.

BTW, we noticed we miss your support for our proposal. Mays we ask you to check it out and consider supporting it?
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

Thanks for sharing this kind of recipe. I will try it next time, when I can buy some ingredients. I really like eating this kind of dish because it's vegetables! But I'm allergic to shrimp. Huhu

Hi. You can use pork instead. Just sear it then add the gata then the vegetables.

Thanks for the tips! 🥰

Thanks for the recipe! Looks so simple and yummy!
So you don't need to soak the shrimps in lemon soda before cooking them? 🙂

No need. For this recipe, I just deveined the shrimps.
But you gave me an idea. I'll try it next time.
I usually soak shrimp in lemon soda when I cook seafood cajun or buttered shrimp.

Ohh nice! 😅

Enjoy your delicacy 🥰😘

Thank you. We really enjoyed the food.

Welcome 🤗🤗
Very nice 👍

Wow that's look delicious 😍 Now I know what to cook for my lunch tomorrow 😁

Wow. Share a picture here too.😊

It's a nice recipe looks so good,I love especially the fact you use shrimps are one of my favourite seafood 🦞🦞