A homemade kohlrabi soup with a hint of nutmeg

Hi Hivefriends,

today I would like to introduce you to a very simple, but nevertheless very tasty dish.

The practical thing is that you really hardly need any ingredients. And it is vegetarian. If you have guests coming, I would rather serve it as a starter, but for in-between meals it is also enough for lunch. Have you ever made kohlrabi soup? I have to admit, I make it relatively rarely. And every time I eat it, I think afterwards that I have to make it more often ;).

It's a recipe of my own, which I copied from a magazine years ago, but then simplified and changed a bit;) So now it's my own recipe, so to speak;)

IMG_2678i.jpg

For four people you need these ingredients:

  • 3 large kohlrabi
  • half a cup of cream
  • 500 ml vegetable stock, a little salt and pepper if you like
  • half a cup of crème fraîche
  • Nutmeg if you like it

i have rarely needed so few ingredients for a recipe, what do you say?

IMG_2663.jpg

IMG_2660.jpg

IMG_2659.jpg

And this is how you prepare the soup: Allow about half an hour. And you will need a blender.
First wash the kohlrabi, peel it and remove the wood. I don't know how to describe it better ;). Then cut them into small pieces. Put the kohlrabi pieces into a pot and cook them until they are done. Add some vegetable stock.

IMG_2672.jpg

IMG_2671.jpg

IMG_2668.jpg

IMG_2665.jpg

Then mash the kohlrabi in the pot. Add the cream and salt and pepper to taste.

Then add a little crème fraîche on top - that's it!

If you would like to try this recipe, please let me know in the comments how you liked it. See you next time :)

IMG_2676.jpg

IMG_2675.jpg

IMG_2674.jpg

IMG_2677.jpg

IMG_2678i.jpg

I added a green kohlrabi leaf from the stem for decoration;) In the picture above you can see the final result. Enjoy your meal.

Sort:  

This must be a good soup for winter time. Im obsessed with nutmeg. Been using it in any dish I'm cooking 😸

Then this dish would definitely be something for you! It just tastes so much better with nutmeg :)

This is the first time I heard about that interesting food, and it looks so delicious 😄 enjoy your meal

Thank you, it was really delicious. I also hear so often about new dishes that I didn't know before and I love trying them out.

You have the most amazing recipe. I love soup , look so delicious. ♥️ Thanks my friend

Thank you very much, it was great, especially when it's still a bit fresh outside here. Many greetings <3

that’s looks like melon. I never saw it before

Right, now that you mention it, it looks a bit like it. It just doesn't taste that sweet :)

I've never heard of it before but it sounds like it would be good. But I don't know what a kohlrabi is either lol.

I'm guessing it's either a celery root, or rutabaga or.... actually...(pauses to google kohlrabi)....

Okay I see that it's a "German turnip," interesting. Sounds good.

That's right, maybe it would have been good to explain that again at the beginning, it was probably new to several people. But it's cool that you googled it, I have to say it's actually not my favorite, but I love it prepared that way. Maybe when you're in Germany you can try it :)

I will look out for it if/when I go back to Germany

Your recipe came at the right time, I have kohlrabi in the fridge and didn't know how to use it. I usually use it for salad, but this time it will be used for soup. Thanks for sharing

That's cool, did you make the soup then? I would be very interested to know if you liked it :) Thank you for stopping by.

I was a little bit busy over the weekend and didn't have time,....but I still have kohlrabi in the fridge 😀

I haven't tried kohlrabi before but anything with nutmeg in it, I'm in.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you so much for the support!