Easy Homemade Healthy Salad Recipe

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago (edited)

I was about to make my salad one day when I came up with the idea of recording it so I can share it here in @foodiesbeehive community.

ezgif.comgifmaker.gif

As much as possible, I make this salad daily if I have fresh leafy lettuce available. That's maybe around 2 to 3 times a week.

I took inspiration from dine-out restaurants that I and my family go to. My mom likes to order Caesar's salad. I tasted one from Casa Verde for the first time -- that's when I realized eating a healthy salad CAN be enjoyable 😅


Here's what I used:

IMG_20210205_120017.jpg

INGREDIENTS (PER SERVING SIZE):

- Around 6 leaves of lettuce, chopped
- 2 Magnolia's Cheesy Chicken Fingers, fried and chopped
- 4 slices of cucumber
- 2 tbsp. of raw julienned carrots
- 1 medium boiled egg
- 1/2 apple, sliced
- 1 tbsp. cheddar cheese, cubed
- 1.5 tbsp. Kewpie Roasted Sesame Dressing (or any salad dressing of your choice)

Optional (sometimes I add this when available)
- 1 tbsp. sweet corn kernels
- Red tomato, sliced

Here's a video of me preparing my daily healthy salad 👇

▶️ Watch on 3Speak

Lastly, for the health and fitness buffs out there, here's the calorie breakdown of the meal.

Screenshot taken from my MyFitnessPal app

Screenshot taken from my MyFitnessPal app

I never really liked calorie counting before because I'm bothered by the numbers. There's no way the app accounts for every energy intake and energy expended. But after using this for a month now (I started last January, yes cliché New Year's Resolution), I realized that's not the point.

For me, when you have a rough estimate of the calorie deficit you have for the day, you feel more in control of your eating habits. You have a benchmark of the "calorie allowance" that you have daily.

I like to use the MyFitnessPal app by Under Armour because of the bar code scanning feature. Simply position your camera on the bar code of whatever you're eating, and they'll find that item on their database for you. I also like that they have a database for exercises. You can find sports activities there like cycling, boxing, strength training, jogging, rope jumping, etc. Simply input the exercise duration in minutes, and they'll estimate the equivalent estimated calories.


Are there any readers out there who are also trying to eat healthy? Do share your salad recipes below! Or even just general tips for living a healthy lifestyle. I'll gladly take some notes!

🥗END🥗

 


In the cyberspace, Kaycee Ports is a freelance writer who does blog writing, SEO copywriting, and web content for bloggers, entrepreneurs, website designers, and authors. In the mundane world, Kaycee Ports is a licensed chemical engineer practicing her degree in the field of environmental science. She is based in Manila, Philippines as an industrial hygienist. But the strong Bisaya accent still shows at times. In an alternate universe, she believes she's a Beyoncé.
Feel free to follow her if your interests are on personal development, travel and literary arts!