Prawns Roast

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

Prawns are one my favorite of all sea foods. You can add them to absolutely anything and they taste really good.

Although, prawns have a short cooking time, this is one of those dishes, where they cook for somewhat longer time until they get a crust. And depending on how much liquid you add, it is only going to take that much more time.

Prawns roast is spicy and has an amazing curry leaf flavor. So, if you are not afraid of the spice, give this recipe a try.

The prep time for this recipe is 5 minutes. (I am using deveined and cleaned prawns) The cooking time for me was 10 minutes.

Let’s start.
Ingredients

Prawns - 250 grams
Kashmiri Chili Powder - 2 teaspoon
Turmeric Powder - 1/2 teaspoon
Salt - as per taste (I have used 1 teaspoon)
Ginger - 1/2 inch
Garlic - 1 clove
Green Chili - 1
Curry Leaf - 10 - 12 for making the paste and 10 - 12 while cooking
Oil - 1 tablespoon (As always I use coconut oil)

Method

In a blender, add chili powder, turmeric, salt, curry leaf, ginger, garlic and green chili, 2 tablespoon of water and make a fine paste.

Next, Add the paste, prawns and 1/2 cup of water to a pan.

Switch on the gas and cook on medium flame for a couple of minutes. It paste will start coming together.

At this stage, the prawns are cooked. Add the rest of the curry leaf. And cook for a maybe 1 more minute.

If you are making this for a later time, and want to store in the freezer, you can switch off the gas, and let it cool completely. Store in the freezer. It stays well for a couple of months and there is no change in taste or texture.

When all the ingredients start coming together, add 1 tablespoon of oil. Cook on high flame until the prawns get a deeper color and the develops a crust.

And it's ready to eat.

Thank you for reading.


I cook every day. Well, almost every day. And there are days where I cook multiple recipes. Having said that, I am not an authentic or professional chef. Many of my recipes are experiments as I try to adapt and use the ingredients I already have.

My mantra is you should cook food just the way you like it. I don’t mean any disrespect to traditional methods of cooking or any cultures where the cuisine originates from. But I merely try to cook it with what I have and what is available to me and sometimes, I add ingredients that I want to use up.


All photos are my own.

All photos are shot on a mobile phone.