Blog #116: One of Pinoy's Best

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago (edited)

Hey Hivers!

Today, I will be sharing with you one of the Filipino's favorite food. It is puto maya with tsokolate and ripe mango. One piece of puto maya is not enough for me because it is really delicious.

Have you already tried this mouthwatering food?

Last tuesday, I went to Ginatilan market because I bought their delicacies. Someone told me that I should try it before leaving Samboan because it is delicious. While looking for it, I saw a woman selling a puto maya (sticky rice cake) and tsokolate (chocolate). It is one of my favorite food.

png_20211209_140728_0000.png

I went to her food stall and asked her if how much does it cost per piece. It costs php10.00 per puto maya and php10.00 also for the tsokolate.

What is Puto Maya (sticky rice cake)?

Puto Maya is a type of sticky rice cake that originated from Cebu. It's made of steamed glutinous rice, fresh ginger juice, and sweetened coconut milk. It's usually served wrapped in banana leaves in triangle or round shapes with slices of juicy ripe mangoes in the side.

I remember way back the time when I was working in a manufacturing firm, my close friend brought this food most of the time. Her mother always made this food because she sells it to their neighbor. And mostly, when she brought it I could finish 2~3 pieces of puto maya.

20211207_064636.jpg

This is how it looks when you remove the leaf. I was so happy as they used the purple sticky rice because I find it more delicious compared to the white sticky rice. I don't know if someone would agree.

Puto maya with sikwate? It is absolutely a perfect pair. When we eat puto maya we will spread the sikwate around it before eating. But other Pinoys have different way of eating that food like they will eat the puto maya first and they sip the tsokolate after.

What is Sikwate?

Sikwate is the Cebuano version of hot chocolate or the tsokolate de batirol. It is prepared by adding tablea (cocoa tablets) and brown sugar into a pot of boiling water & stirring it until combined & fully dissolved.

Since this food is more delicious with a ripe mango so I bought one mango in the market.

20211207_083856.jpg

Simbang gabi or misa de gallo will be happened in a few days. Do you know what? This is one of the best selling food during simbang gabi because Filipinos love to eat this food after attending the dawn mass.

What is Simbang Gabi?

Simbang Gabi is a devotional nine-day series of masses practiced by Filipino Catholics and Aglipayans in the Philippines in anticipation of Christmas. This is similar to the nine-day series of dawn masses leading to Christmas Eve practiced in Puerto Rico called Misa de Aguinaldo.

20211207_084642.jpg

Everytime I saw this, I always ended up buying this food. How about you? Do you also love this food? Drop a comment below.


Thank you for reading and see you on my next blog. Cheers!


Watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places.

Roald Dahl

Discord: kellyane#0924


Some photos were edited using Canva

205704246_497302184716947_9074957943064903968_n.jpg

inbound-1236560438.jpg

Namaste! I am fond of reading books, watching korean, american and filipino series/movies and I am also fond of gardening. I love listening to different life stories and I am always captivated with the beauty of nature so travel is my escape when life turns into blue. But hey, how could I forget my photography hobby? It is one of the best, so follow me as I will be featuring my experiences of the stuff that I am passionate with.

Sort:  

Gusto ko ito matikman, mukha syang masarap.

Masarap talaga yan @afterglow!

Jezzzzz, Lamia ani uyyy. 😋😋😋😋😋

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Yown! Miss this so much! Nindot pod ng tapol nga pilit jud gamiton.

Mas lamian ko niya @amayphin kesa kadtung white.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png