You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Butternut Fritters with Maple Syrup

Well, that's quite an interesting way to use butternuts. Pretty close to where I live there are many people who grow them and the harvest is only in a few weeks so I will definitely try your recipe, I think I already remembered it by heart :)
As I will be using a regular flour, I suppose I have to add one teaspoon of baking powder?
Also, as I generally avoid using the microwave, I guess I should boil it instead? What would you recommend?
Thanks and !PIZZA

Sort:  

Hi! Oh that’s so brilliant to have your own butternut. I wish I had more space to grow more at home. Boiling will work very well. Just drain the butternut well to remove excess water. You can also probably just use a plain flour and it shouldn’t make too much difference. But a ½ tsp baking powder should give the same effect as the Self raising flour. My mom has made this recipe all my life and I couldn’t make it without sharing. It’s just so simple. Hope yours turn out well!

Thank you for the suggestion, I hope to be able to test this recipe with fresh butternuts in a couple of weeks :)
!PIZZA