Hive Creative Contest | Time for Bread - Garlic & Chives Twisted Star Bread

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago (edited)

Thank goodness I do not suffer from Wheat intolerance OR ELSE I would forever be ill, as there's nothing as good as the aroma of bread baking in the oven and then diving into it as soon as it comes out the oven, lathered with butter and nothing else still is everyone's favourite!

Breads come in all shapes and sizes, textures and flavours so for this challenge I wanted to make something special and found the most perfect Cheese Garlic Bread Star recipe on Thermo Kitchen.

cover1.jpg

I changed it slightly as I wanted a softer dough, but the basic method is very close to that recipe, so a big thank you as this bread turned out really scrumptious; a definite bake for our next braai (BBQ) or dinner party!

It really is not as difficult as it looks, and that's a promise!

Note for my Vegan friends:
I'm sure you can easily adapt this recipe and use Almond Milk in the dough as well as Vegan Butter for assembly.

Gluten Intolerance
Those suffering from gluten intolerance should read the interesting theories about why so many people are gluten intolerant in modern times.
I believe it's possibly the weed sprays used on the wheat, the chemicals used in the processing of flour or the methods used today to speed up the process of bread baking.

original_cf0c6329-a7f2-42b8-8176-a10a728ed7a5_20210409_135009.jpg

Garlic & Chives Twisted Star Bread

Bread Dough
  • 4 cups Stone-ground Cake Wheat Flour
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Brown Sugar
  • 1 sachet Instant Yeast
  • 1 cup lukewarm Milk
  • 3/4 cup lukewarm Water
  • 80 gram melted Butter
    Mix first 4 dry ingredients together, make well in centre, place yeast in well.
    Pour liquids into centre and knead till elastic and a ball forms.
    Leave to proof in a warm place (I use my Wonderbag as always)
    Divide into 4 equal pieces.

20210409_195516-ANIMATION.gif

Garlic & Chives Butter
  • 150 gram softened Butter
  • 1 bunch Chives or Spring Onions
  • 5 cloves Garlic, crushed
  • 1 small bunch fresh Parsley
  • Small bunch fresh Basil
  • 200ml grated Cheese
    Place in food processor and use to spread between dough layers.

Herbs butter.png

Assembling the bread
Roll each piece of dough into a circle, place first circle on lined baking sheet.
Spread with a third of the herbed butter.
Repeat with remaining layers.
Place small glass in centre, cut bread into four segments, then cut again until 16 segments are obtained.
Twist pairs of segments towards each other, then pinch ends to form a point.

Brush with olive Oil, then Bake in 180°C for 30-40 min.

dough segments.jpg

20210409_200435-ANIMATION.gif

20210409_130216.jpg

20210409_133952.jpg

This bread is best eaten hot, on its own, as it is absolutely delicious with the garlic and chives herbed butter melted into the dough.
You're going to need loads of serviettes and an ice cold drink to go with it; or a good cup of coffee will also do!

I hope you enjoyed breaking this garlicky herb & chives twisted bread with me today in the amazingly talented @zord189's Hive Creative Contest | Time For Bread.
Hope to see your bread here, you still have time to enter as the contest deadline is on Sunday Night, 11/04/2021, 11:59PM (GMT +8)

BON APPETIT FRIENDS!
20210409_140158.jpg

Liz Signature Jan 21.gif
Banner created by @zord189

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved
Heart page break.png

Do you know this Badge?
Papilloncharity.png

It says "Thank you for partnering with the Papillon Foundation by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway."

Do you want this Badge?
If you like this badge and if you want to help too, you can learn more about @combination and the badge in their blog post:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

Hive animated divider 1.gif
Why not join Hive RIGHT HERE and become part of this amazing community!


Banner created by @derangedvisions

Sort:  

I love this recipe @lizelle, I like it so much that I saved it for future elaboration. In addition to having a good introduction, you have clearly indicated the ingredients, and the step by step is great! I really like the alternatives you give to vegans and the reflection on why so many people are allergic to gluten; I've always wondered that, and I say it because my sister, after eating wheat all her life turns out that now she is celiac, I really don't understand that. On the other hand, it is a bread that is so beautiful and neat that it can be an ideal gift for any occasion. Excellent post! A big greeting.


Esta receta me encanta @lizelle, me gusta tanto que la guardé para en un futuro elaborarla. Además de tener una buena introducción, has indicado con claridad los ingredientes, y el paso a paso está ¡genial!, me gustan mucho las alternativas que das a las personas veganas y la reflexión relativa a por qué hay tanta gente alérgica al gluten; siempre me he preguntado eso, y lo digo porque mi hermana, luego de comer trigo toda la vida resulta que ahora es celiaca, eso de veras no lo entiendo. Por otra parte, es un pan que queda tan hermoso y prolijo que puede ser un obsequio ideal para cualquier ocasión. ¡Excelente post! Un gran saludo.

Oh you will see just how easy it is once you start, one could actually make your own designs as long as it's layered with the garlic butter.
You could also layer it with choc chips for a sweet version although I haven't tried that.
Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments @sirenahippie 🤗

What a good idea! It is always a pleasure to read your post and comment on it. Sometimes I am slow to comment, I curate first and I comment the next day, but I try as much as possible to say something about my curations. A big greeting.

I think I'm going to lose my mind. This makes me want to jump through the screen and rip a large chunk off and just go crazy on this.

@lizelle it's a thing of beauty. If I ever have the energy to get my oven fixed, I need to give this a go. You have some mad baking skills my friend!!!!

LOL, This smelled absolutely divine while baking and tasted even better! How I wished to have shared some with you! I'm definitely going to be experimenting with various shapes with this layered garlic bread, too delicious!
As for the oven, hubby said replacing the bake element was the easiest thing ever so perhaps speak to your local spares supplier, literally took a couple of minutes.
Hope you get baking again soon my friend.
Thanks for the appreciation of this blog!
Have a good weekend further.

This is amazing @lizelle
@zord189, if you don't give this week's win to @lizelle, I'm gonna come home and skin you alive .. ha ha
Just looking at the photos, I'm already thinking of getting myself a loaf of freshly baked bread.
Love the recipe and how you twist the dough .. I never knew how to do that

Haha @ireenchew, this was the first time I've attempted something like this but won't be the last time either, it was sooo delicious and really a great way to have garlic bread😋
Poor @zord189 please spare him😅😅😅
Thank you for the lovely feedback, have a great weekend further 😀

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you for the awesome support @sirenahippie and @foodiesunite, appreciate your support 🤗

Yummyy! I would love to have a bite or the whole bread LOL! Your family must be a lucky one they are getting such delicious dishes every now and then.
Enjoy the weekend:)

Haha @sahiba-rana, it was delish indeed! I'm definitely making this layered garlic bread again, will be experimenting with various shapes for sure😋
Thank you so much for the awesome feedback, have a great weekend as well🤗

Just reading this already made my mouth water and I can't imagine what will follow but it must be very good. Your post is out of a fantasy, it seems like it was created by some little elves from the countryside who came and formed the bread and left it made for your publication, it is sensational. Thanks for sharing, I think now I'm going to learn how to make bread.

It really is much easier than it looks and very delicious!
Wish I had some magical elves to do the boring jobs😉
Thank you so much for your awesome comments @carolinacardoza 🤩

Looks really yummy. Bread is my favorite food ever!

This little loaf was the best, really good, thanks for the visit, great meeting you @wolfofnostreet 🤗

Oh, my God! I think I could eat half of this in one sitting. I can almost feel the fragrance...

Haha @eolinde, we kept on having just one more piece...and again another piece...it was delicious 😋 Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback🤗

Wow! What a masterpiece! You are truly a pastry chef Lizelle! Must be delicious too!💚😘👌

Oh you'd turn this in a real work of art @lenasveganliving, would be great seeing a vegan version.
Thank you for the visit, it's always lovely seeing you here🤩

it is already a work of art Lizelle. I have seen many vegan versions on Instagram, so I may try someday. Always a pleasure my Dear 💖😍💖

Fabulous!!!!
This reminds me to prepare this for our next get-together!
Yummy garlicky bread!

You'll love it @silversaver888, thank you!
PS I made a bread today and used your trick of brushing butter on the crust, so thank you for that as well😉

Wow! This looks so professional. I haven't had garlic bread in a long time, miss the smell of it.

Thank you so much for this theme, really challenged me to try something different, it was delicious indeed!

Oh my
How cute is that
And I knew I'd come here and salivate
Looks so yummmzzzzz

Oh it was yum indeed, thank you so much🤩