Cooking Nilat-ang baboy in this cold weather.

IMG_20220411_160731.jpg

Greetings food lovers,

I hope that every one of us is doing great and happy. In my place, it's been raining here continuously and sadly most of the Visayas region had very huge destruction due to heavy rains just like the other day landslides happened in Leyte, and homes are buried and several residents are missing. I hope you can help me send a little prayer to those who are suffering this time of crisis.

Anyway speaking of cold weather. Food is always been our comfort zone so in this cold weather I cook a delightful soup that could warm up our bodies.

Locally we call this soup nilat-ang baboy. Nilat-an means stewed and baboy means pork. Luckily I was able to go outside to buy the ingredients for my dish before the heavy rain started to fall.

Here are the ingredients I used

IMG_20220412_001134.jpg

  • pork legs
  • cabbage
  • ginger
  • spring onion
  • long chillies
  • salt
  • pepper
  • seasoning

for the procedure

IMG_20220412_003525.jpg

  • First, I boiled the pork legs together with ginger until tender.

What do I want if I'm cooking a soup dish is I want as much as possible to add ginger because with ginger I can feel the soothing effect while sipping the soups.

IMG_20220405_113822.jpg

  • Second, When the meat is already tender I add the long chillies and spring onions and season with salt, pepper and my favourite seasoning and then simmer.

IMG_20220412_011547.jpg

  • Third, while it's simmering I add the matured ribs of the cabbage and after one minute I turn off the fire. Lastly, I add the remaining leaves because as usual, I don't want them to overcook. After that, it's all done to enjoy hot while the weather is cold.

Heres my Nilat-and baboy for the cold weather

IMG_20220405_114509_1.jpg

IMG_20220411_160731.jpg

It feels good when I hear the pouring rain and the cold breeze touches my face while eating a meaty and delicious hot soup in the cold weather it is like relieving my stress that I can not do anything outside (It's hard to do gardening which I do most of the days) and the best of my cooking is seeing my family happy and satisfied to the food I serve for them.

Ended it was a very satisfying meal and I hope you like the dish I prepared. I'll see you again at my next food recipe.

Thank you for reading this.
Much appreciated and Have a lovely day everyone😘.

Sort:  

Hello @luckylaica good to finally see you. Your site is always my reference if I want to cook something that I do not know the recipe. You always have the recipe and you always make it so easy and the ingredients very simple but it will always turns out to be very delicious. Thank you for sharing your talent to us. You are my inspiration!!

Oh wow, thank you so much I'm flattered. I'm more passionate to do more recipes since I love cooking 😊. I hope you have a good day @mich.brmey.