Delightful taste and the Primitive cooking of "puto bumbong"

IMG_20220422_153501.jpg

Greetings food lovers,

I'm here again to share with you the delightful and unique primitive cooking of "Puto Bumbong".

Puto Bumbong is a Filipino purple rice cake (puto) steamed in bamboo tubes (bumbong). It is traditionally sold during the Christmas season and yesterday while we went to Carcar City in Cebu for some matter and suddenly we passed by this attraction somewhere in the next town so we took the chance to get down and took some photos with the view.

IMG_20220422_133841.jpg

I notice this vendor which was the only difference among the other vendors in the area.

IMG_20220422_134048.jpg

IMG_20220422_135326.jpg

All of the vendors except her sell sweet corns so when I look at the stool I was really wondering what she is selling because of the unfamiliar equipment she has so before we get back to head back home I ask her what she is selling and surprisingly she answered that she is selling puto bumbong. It surprises me because they are only famous for every Christmas season and today I was able to meet this Filipino delicacy. I'm very curious about this cake because I never tried this before and I can only hear about this in many Tagalog Christmas songs. That's what makes me want to try it!

IMG_20220422_135313.jpg

Excited to taste the puto bumbong. I bought 1 set from her that cost me 50 pesos (1$) and while she was preparing it I ask her how to make it. So this is their improvised tube (bumbong) made with bamboo and beside it is the batter(glutinous rice mixture) and below is the primitive way of steaming the cake.

IMG_20220422_135318.jpg

IMG_20220422_135323.jpg
The batter is stocked inside the bamboo tube to cook and later remove to garnish with cheese and condensed milk.

IMG_20220422_135444.jpg

Here is my delightful instant meet and taste puto bumbong the cake alone tastes slightly sweet but if you deep it with the condensed milk and with the cheese, you can have a combination of sweet and salty tastes 👌 delicious 😋!

IMG_20220422_153404.jpg

IMG_20220422_153501.jpg

Thank you for reading this far. I appreciated it so much and I hope you found it informative 😉. Have a nice day ahead everyone. 😘🤗

Sort:  

I love that for breakfast. It's a good pair with barako. 😍

I guess it is really good with coffee. I'm gonna try it when I can have a chance to buy it again.🙂