My simple Mud crab with sprite soda recipe.

IMG_20221114_104509.jpg

Greetings food lovers,

It's @luckylaica again and today I'm sharing another simple way how to cook fresh mud crabs that I purchased from a neighbor with simple ingredients to cook.

Every time I come home to the province when I'm off from work, one of the best things I want to do is cook for the family and taste fresh homemade food. It was right when I got home that my neighbor got fresh crabs that were being peddled at a very affordable price so I didn't think twice because I haven't been cooking and eating them for several months since I started working in the city.

IMG_20221114_072616.jpg

I was lucky to buy it because there was only one bag left by the seller. You can also see here that most of them are so fresh and alive that I had a hard time cleaning them. So the first thing I did was boil water to pour and kill them first before cleaning and preparing for cooking.

IMG_20221114_095939.jpg
After I finished cleaning, I immediately cut them into pieces. This is how I cook crabs even though they are not very big because I really want the flavors to really penetrate inside.

IMG_20221114_095835.jpg
And then I prepared the simple ingredients that I can simply buy in small stores here in my place and the small citrus fruits, I just asked for them from my neighbor too.

IMG_20221114_100124.jpg

After I finished preparing everything, I started cooking them, I immediately seasoned them with salt, pepper, and citrus juice and boiled them until there was only a little bit of water, and I poured oil and added garlic and onion to saute them.

IMG_20221114_100223.jpg

IMG_20221114_100557.jpg

When they turned orange-red, I poured one cup of sprite soda and boiled them until the broth disappeared.

After a few minutes, it can be removed from the fire and served.

That and it's ready to eat now and for sure if you try this recipe you'll back up some extra rice for it 😋.

Collage_20221127_052027.jpg

Now, this was my simple and cheap recipe this is what I really want when I come home here, I can eat fresh and more nutritious food because in the city there are many are selling them, but you can't be sure where they come from and how fresh they are and they're selling them very expensive.

I only get to make content sometimes because of my work, so thank you very much for taking the time to read this I appreciate it so much.

Stay safe friends and have a great day ahead!

Sort:  

Crabs! I remembered we used to get some in the river near our house when I was still a kid.

The advantages in the province, you can buy these at affordable prices.

Here also if we just have courage and patience we can catch them for free but honestly, I'm too scared to catch them when I found one. 😂

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you for the curation @sirenahippie and the support @foodiesunite. 😉

Hmmm.... That looks delicious!

Thanks. It's delicious as it seems 😁.

What does adding Sprite do to the crabs? I've never heard of that. In Jamaica, they do eat land/mug crabs too, mainly curried, and sometimes a similar recipe to this one, but I have never heard of Sprite being added. Is it for flavor, changing the acidity, masking a particular scent, or what. I'm just curious. It looks delicious though, and kids tend to enjoy picking at crab meat. Also, I think you made a great decision in breaking up the crab to spread the flavour:)

Hello, @millycf1976. We usually use sprites just to add flavors to it especially if we use it to cook shrimp. The taste would be sweeter.😁

Ok, that's interesting to know 👍😁

This is so nice and thanks for sharing.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @emeka4 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you so much for the appreciation 😊.

Looks delicious 😋😋

Thanks! It's delicious as it seems. 😉

Thanks for dropping by.

@luckylaica wow look so delicious 😋

Thanks, it was really delicious 😁. Thanks for dropping by...

Ohhh, that is so good! I just have a fry crabs last 2 day Your recipes are really yummy. Thanks for bringing your good recipe, sharing with us!☺️

That's great to hear my friend. Thank you so much for appreciating my recipe 😉 too.