EID Special Breakfast Opor Ayam

in Foodies Bee Hive4 years ago (edited)
Yesterday, I was invited to have a typical Eid breakfast with the landlord's family. Normally, I don't do this celebration back home with my family. But since I spent the day away from home, I got to experience traditional EID Indonesian breakfast. The family served Opor Ayam, an Indonesian dish made of chicken cooked in coconut milk broth with various spices including lemon grass. It is commonly served with Ketupat, a steamed rice dish inside a young palm leaves. For the side, normally it is served with boiled egg, fried beef liver and diced potato cooked in spicy sambal. But, what I had yesterday was slight different because it was served with cold rice noodle. Usually, after eating Opor ayam, the guest will be served desserts including Fanta and Coca Cola. Then, the guest will be served cookies and various Eid delicacies. All this happens after the morning prayer which usually ends at 6 AM. So, Eid breakfast is definitely one of the heaviest meal. It's truly a celebration after the Muslim spends 30 days fasting from dawn to dusk.

Here are some pictures of Eid special food in Indonesia including the cookies commonly served in an Indonesian household:

image.png

image.png

Side dish : steamed potato with beef liver cooked in spicy sambal


image.png


Cheese cookies or normally called Kastengel, normally served during EID and considered as one of expensive cookies among all other cookies.


image.png



I hope one day you'll get the chance to taste those food and is invited to one this festival.

Sort:  

I hope you enjoyed the meal

Eid Mubarak:-)

Thank you inuke ! I'll pass it on to muslim friends and family :D