Sort:  

I recommend them to you, I will be available to answer any questions you may have. Best regards. And enjoy making them.

Ah, I can tell you that with the same dough you can make pizzas and pasapalos :)

 3 years ago (edited) 

I read in many places that people use cornmeal. I only use regular flour bread flour, that's okay right? okay yeah, this is the Andean recipe. So, I should be good 😄

Your question is very correct, but in my opinion it would not be appropriate to use corn flour to make the Andean Arepas. I will explain why. First of all, wheat flour contains gluten, this means that thanks to this protein the bread, pizza, Andean Arepa, etc., is very fluffy and tender.

Unlike corn flour which does not have gluten, which means that corn flour bread tends to be a little drier, and therefore, it will not give us those characteristics of an Andean arepa, crispy and soft.

I hope I can clarify your doubt, best regards.