Coconut Bagasse & Overripe Bananas Flourless Cake Bread (gluten and lactose free)

in Foodies Bee Hivelast year (edited)

Hi, foodies in the Hive!

I hope you are all healthy and well :)

Although I don't like the name much really, I'm all for trash cooking; it's about using some of the "waste" you produce in your cooking to make edible products. And hopefully, not just edible, but delicious and healthier.

image.png

One seventh of the world's garbage is made up of food waste. Many of us use this waste to compost the soil, for example, giving garbage a chance to stop being mere trash.

image.png

Fortunately, there are ways to use this waste in your kitchen as well. Many have done so for a long time; others just kept sending food to the garbage can, while it was not only still fit for human consumption--or for their companion animals--, but was even more beneficial than the part they had already used, as when we make a vegetable or fruit juice and throw away the bagasse, thus making use of a lot of sugar without the necessary fiber Nature knew you needed so much.

image.png

Today I want to tell you about a delicious way I found to give a second air to the coconut bagasse that I had left after making coconut milk. I also used a couple of overripe bananas which had been too long in our fruit bowl on the kitchen table. I know many people who throw away bananas when their peel have turned partially or totally black. These wrinkly old bananas are ideal for sweetening many preparations, so you can skip adding sugar.

If like me, you make your own coconut milk at home, you may find this recipe useful, especially if you have overripe bananas to spare because you didn't have as many guests as usual.

What other uses have you found for coconut bagasse in your trash cooking?

image.png

image.png

  • 500 gr coconut bagasse
  • 1 cup overripe bananas
  • 2 cups of ripe plantain
  • 2 eggs (1/2 cup)
  • 1/2 cup cane sugar
  • 1/2 cup of coconut milk
  • 1/3 cup cornstarch
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • Ground cinnamon and vanilla essence to taste (I used a spoonful of each one)
  • A handful of walnuts
  • A handful of raisins

image.png

image.png

image.png

The first step would be to have enough coconut bagasse. I had half a kilo from 3 coconuts that I processed to make milk that day--I have also used the bagasse I had kept in the freezer for weeks. If you wish, you can check out my post where I prepare homemade coconut milk.

The second thing to do is to soften the texture of the raisins if they are too hard, so that they are pleasant to bite into the cake bread. To do this, take the water you'll use in this recipe and let it heat well; then add a tablespoon of the sugar you'll use and let the raisins soak there for a few minutes while you prepare the rest. Finally, drain the raisins with the help of a strainer and use the water when blending, as indicated in the recipe.

image.png

Peel the bananas and plantain and cut into pieces that you can process in your blender.

image.png

Add the eggs and coconut milk. These two ingredients will help hydrate the coconut bagasse, making the cake bread softer.

image.png

Add the salt (only half of the coconut bagasse at this point), and the cornstarch.

image.png

Let the blender do its job until a homogeneous mixture is obtained.

image.png

Pour the mixture into a bowl. You will see that the mixture is smooth and lumpy.

Add the rest of the coconut bagasse, the rest of the sugar, the cinnamon, and the vanilla essence. Mix well with the help of a paddle or a fork.

image.png

Pour a third part of the mixture into a greased baking dish. I used olive oil this time, and it was perfect.

image.png

Add the nuts and raisins, while altenarting layers of the batter.


image.png

In a preheated oven at 300°F, with top and bottom heat, let the cake bread bake for 80 minutes, or until the surface is golden brown.

image.png

At home we were very satisfied with the result. This was our Sunday breakfast; we accompanied the cake bread with jams and peanut butter. I served this with black coffee.

image.png

The cake bread was moist and with incredible texture and aroma. The raisins were soft. After the first bite, I was sure I was going add overripe bananas again next time, definitely.

image.png

I had grape jam and homemade blackberry & mango jam.

Bon appetit!


image.png

Thank you so much for your visit :)

image.png

All text and images are my own. I have taken the pictures with my Redmi 9T cell phone. And if any GIFs here, I've used GIPHY(https://giphy.com/create/gifmaker) for all them.

image.png

Sort:  

This recipe seems delicious, and even more with that appetizing aspect that it has, I like the coconut, the walnuts and the raisins.

image.png


Has sido curado por @visualblock / You've been curated by @visualblock
Bienvenidas delegaciones / Delegations welcome
Encuentra nuestra comunidad aquí / Find our community here
Trail de Curación / Curation Trail

You're too kind! Thank you so much, @alberto0607 @visualblock 💟

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @edwing357 on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you so much for your support, @foodiesunite @edwing357 💕

Siempre traes recetas espectaculares , es un gusto ver tu blog ☺️

Eres muy amable, @edwing357. Esas palabras significan mucho para mí, sobre todo viniendo de ti. Un abrazo. 💕

Feliz y bello día amiga 🤗 hoy es día de crear ricas comidas 🙃😊



Creative Cuisine(1).gif


You have been curated by @edwing357 and the Creative Cuisine project.

We invite you to join the flavor community.


All delegations are welcome, join our curation train and be part of the flavor. . @creativecuisine


Thank you so much, @creativecuisine 🥰

You are an excellent cook, thank you for sharing delicious recipes. 👨‍🍳

Wow! you just made me drool with this one...

Ha, ha, ha, ha... You must have a sweet tooth like me. Thank you for dropping by, @afterglow 💕

Indeed, I do have sweet tooth, I love chocolates and any form of sweets.

It's always a pleasure to salivate over your creations. I can't imagine how amazing fresh coconuts would be. I have spent a bit of time in places with coconuts and never was able to get one and crack it.

This is not just a dessert, it would be sufficient for lunch in my opinion. This is my kind of banana bread. Super fresh and tropical!❤️

Hi, @carolynstahl & Thank you so much for dropping by and for your nice words 🌻❤️ The aftertaste is just like you've had a bite of regular banana bread. But the texture is not that soft; anyway, my guests were delighted and asked for more, so it must have been good. Fresh coconuts are dear to me; they give you some work, though. I mean to try a vegan version of this and we'll see about that.

Hugs!