My Special Moist Banana Cake: Granny Smith, Coconut Flour, Chocolate

in Foodies Bee Hivelast month (edited)

Hi, foodies in the Hive!

I hope you all had a nice weekend. Mine went really well; the semester is finally over, and I can take a break from classes and proofreading/correcting/grading papers 😁❤️

image.png

image.png

image.png

Almost every Sunday, my husband and I go to the city market to get food and fish for our kittens.

image.png

Although there's almost always something, some "little thing" that goes wrong with our purchases as there are cheating vendors who want to give you less for your money, we continue to go often because, in general, we save good money that we cam use for other necessities.

Today I got some horrible bananas, certainly not the ones I'd picked--they look worse in person, or in banana 🤣; it was one of those "little things" that could go wrong; it was boiling hot and because of this, I wanted to go home quickly before I popped, so I was careless. Anyway, those awful bananas, which are not even the variety I like, turned into a tasty cake by the end of the afternoon. I added some homemade coconut flour, Granny Smith, cocoa, chocolate, and cinnamon 😁

Below I show you how I made it, if you want to take a look.

image.png

image.png

INGREDIENTS

image.png

  • 700 gr awful bananas (usually overripe)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs (M)
  • 1 cup coconut flour (I used homemade, wholemeal)
  • 1 cup self-rising wheat flour
  • 3 tablespoons white vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons corn oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 200 gr Granny Smith, chopped
  • 50 gr Savoy dark chocolate, chopped

  • 1 tablespoon sugar + 1 tablespoon cocoa powder for garnish

  • enough margarine to grease the baking pyrex

image.png

MAKING THE CAKE 😋

I peeled and mashed the bananas with a fork.

image.png

Then I added the sugar and ground cinnamon, plus three healthy and fresh eggs I bought today from a friend.

image.png

After I had mixed these ingredients, I added the flours.

image.png

Now that I'm making this flour with the coconut bagasse left over from making milk, I've found a valuable ally to eat less to no wheat flour. I used half and half for this recipe.

image.png

Then it was time to add vinegar and oil. Measures are approximate; I leave this part to my eyes 😃

image.png

I mixed well and got ready to add the apple and chocolate. I started by peeling and chopping most of the apples, leaving a portion to slice on the mandoline.

image.png

As usual, I rubbed the chopped and sliced apple with freshly squeezed menon juice.

image.png

Lemon juice keeps the pieces of apple from turning brown.

image.png

PYREX

Always that I can, I use a pyrex to bake my cakes. As I had a good amount of batter, I chose my biggest one (28 x 19 x 6 cm), which fortunately fits in my little electric oven. I greased it well with margarine.

image.png

Then I poured 3/4 of the mixture into the greased pyrex.

image.png

...and added the apple chunks.

image.png

I chopped 50 gr of chocolate and added them. The pieces of apple and chocolate were about the same size, 1 cm approx.

image.png

There were three times as many apple chunks as chocolate, I think.

image.png

More batter.

image.png

All of it.

image.png

Finally, it was time to decorate. You probably already know that my decorating skills are limited--really limited--, so I rely on the beauty that the ingredients have in themselves. Fortunately, the hideous bananas had already been transmuted 😁

image.png

I arranged the apple slices the best I could on the surface, sprinkled them with sugar, and then added a mixture of sugar and cocoa powder on the borders of each slice. It was right then when my husband came up to me and said, "What are you doing?" And I, before he said, "That lacks color," replied, "I'm doing a decoration in earth tones." I replied like an expert. He went on his way 🙊

image.png
image.png

After 45 minutes in the electric oven at 300° F, this was the result:

image.png

I was really happy with the appearance and also, with the textures and flavor.

image.png

image.png

Banana cakes are really versatile. We like this cake for dessert as much as for breakfast with a cup of coffee. If you like banana cakes, you probably want to try this one. It was fruity and moist, aromatic, soft. Nice!

I hope you found this post useful 😁 Have a wonderful week ahead! ❤️

Enjoy!

image.png

image.png

All text and images are my own. I have taken the pictures with my Redmi 9T cell phone. And if any GIFs here, I've used GIPHY for all them.

image.png

Thank you so much for your visit :)

MARLYN BANNER_5 (1).png

Banner by @andresromero 🖤

Sort:  

Those awful bananas sure did a great job at helping you make a divine, super scrumptious looking apple cake.

It makes me laugh that you say awful bananas. Those are what we poor Canadians get most of haha. I get excited when I see them on sale all spotted, over ripe and super ugly. That's when I know I'm having some good smoothies. Plus they sometimes almost give them away.

Wishing you the best day ever my friend!

Oh, my dear friend, I'd missed this message!

Ugly bananas! I'll explain. Have of them were hard and overripe at the same time. I don't know why that happens. I noticed it at the stand, but they tricked me. Anyway, they were really cheap, and I could use half of them at least. I think I paid $0.4 for 1.5kg; bananas are a popular fruit in my town.

Have a great day, my gorgeous friend ❤️

Hola hola querida Marlyn

A decir verdad no encuentro nada horrible por aquí, sólo unos cambures pecosos bien dulces que junto a la canela y la manzana le dan ese toque espectacular a este pastel. Los ingredientes mis favoritos, esa corteza dorada deliciosa...

Es un alivio para los cambures saber que hay quien los defienda, jaja. No quise poner las fotos de las partes feas, pero de 14 cambures solo 6 podían verse; estaban llenos de partes duras. No sé por qué pasa eso. Mi abuela de Güiria decía que eso pasaba cuando los bajaban muy verdes y llevaban sol --si mal no recuerdo. En fin, eso me pasa por andar atrapando moscas; aquí en el mercado de Cumaná es la jungla 🙄

Hoy nos comimos el último pedazo. Haré más para tomarnos el guarapito ❤️

Esto se ve súper delicioso, un pastel épico la verdad. Gracias por esta estupenda receta. Saludos @marlyncabrera

Muchas gracias 😌❤️


BANNER AMAZING.png
You've been curated by @amazingdrinks! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @amazingdrinks 😁❤️

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @foodiesunite @sirenahippie 😁❤️

Oh gosh, it looks really delicious, I think I could even smell it haha. Very good post

The aroma impregnated the house. It was really pleasant; no doubt it reached you through the screen 😜

Thank you so much for dropping by, @bethyjade! Have a wonderful day 💖

This looks yummy and I can vouch for you that the taste will be very nice
Enjoy it!

Luce delicioso

Gracias ❤️🤗

Amiga con tan solo ver la imagen de esa ración de pastel quedé enamorada, es una tentación muy grande 😍 Dios bendiga tus manos y nos sigas regalando estas recetas espectaculares.

¡Feliz 4to aniversario-Hive!🥂🎉

Gracias por pasar a dejar tus lindas palabras 😁 Qué tengas excelente inicio de semana ❤️

Los cambures bien, pero bien maduros son los mejores para hacer tortas, le aportan mucha más humedad a cualquiera postre o pastel.👍🏻

Y bueno, que te puedo decir si combinamos el cambur con el coco, una delicia total. Yo muero por todo lo que lleve coco! Jeje!☺️🥰

Por cierto, la textura se ve estupenda y los tracitos de pera le dan un plus!

Gracias por esta combinación en un adorable postre, @marlyncabrera.