Kalabasa(Squash) okoy

in Foodies Bee Hivelast year

Every day is a struggle with what recipes we can cook. And of course, it depends on what ingredients we have in our kitchen. Vegetables are always one of our options to maintain a healthy body. So now, I want to share with you one of my recipes when it comes to kalabasa (squash).

Kalabasa is one of the vegetables that I hate when I was a kid. It just tastes different. Even though I know it is rich in vitamin A, which is good for our eyes, I can't force myself to love it. I remember before when I'm just 5 years old, my Mom pushed me to eat kalabasa, she got angry, and because of that, I tried to swallow a small piece of it. But then ended up throwing up.

So now, I know kids or even adults struggle on eating veggies. So this recipe will help you cook kalabasa without forcing someone to eat it or will end up throwing up. I'm confident to say that you will love this recipe.

This is just so easy to make and budget-friendly. So without further ado, let's start cooking!

Ingredients:

• 250 g pumpkin grated
• 2 cloves garlic minced
• 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
• 1 egg
• salt and pepper to taste
• ginisa mix (optional)
• 1/2 cup oil for frying

Screenshot_20221123_144711.jpg

Procedures:

• Grate first the kalabasa. Be careful about doing this as grater are so sharp that they could slice your hands. Then set aside.

IMG_20221123_142325.jpg

• In a bowl, combine all the ingredients: kalabasa, garlic, flour, egg, salt, and pepper. Then add ginisa mix for additional flavor. You can also use another breading mix like crispy fry instead of using flour. It's complete flavor, no need to add salt and pepper.

IMG_20221123_122929.jpg

• Mix it well to make a thin sticky batter.

IMG_20221123_123200.jpg

• In a pan, put the oil and heat it over medium heat. Lay at least 5 tbsp of the mixture or depending on how small or big you want it.

IMG_20221123_123905.jpg

• Pan-fry it for about 2-3 minutes on each side or until golden brown. Remove it from the pan. Make sure to eliminate excess oil or put it in a paper towel to absorb.

IMG_20221123_125506.jpg

And that's it. It's ready to serve and consume. It tastes better if you add some ketchup to it.

This recipe is delicious that you won't think it's made of kalabasa. So for those who are picky eaters out there. This recipe is good for you. Or mommies that have kids who don't want to eat veggies, this dish might interest them. It tastes just like fried chicken or any meat product like chicken nuggets... Something like that.
Also, you can make it more engaging to eat if you prepare it bigger, like how huge pizza is.

IMG_20221123_160140.jpg

Then slice it into 4... And it's ready to consume just like how you eat pizza.

IMG_20221123_160200.jpg

I hope you learned something today. A new way of cooking kalabasa. Or maybe you knew this already. Well, if that's the case maybe you know other ingredients to make it more delicious than usual. Don't hesitate to share it through the comment section. 😉

📌Disclaimer: All photographs by me, unless otherwise stated.

Sort:  

I've never seen or heard about this food before but not after reading the procedure you listed above 🖕. It looks so appetizing and since I can't have a taste of it through my phone screen, I'm expecting a food delivery from you, Mayt 😂😂😂.

#Dreemport brought me here.

Lol. No. Try it on your screen, you can taste it. 🙈 Just make sure no one can see you while doing it.

Hahaha 😂😂
Alright 👍

Dear @mayt . You submitted this post to Dreemport on a day when a challenge post for dreem-wotw was to be submitted. That’s why this post was rejected.

Please, be careful when submitting post to Dreemport. It should allign with all the rules (copyright, plagiarism, pg13, challenge post ). If your posts would be rejected thrice for breaking the same rule your submission privilege would be temporarily suspended.

I hope you would follow the rules and keep on submitting posts in Dreemport 🙂

Thanks for informing me @amberkashif. I was wondering too why it became rejected. No idea that day that it was only for a challenge post. Sorry for that. I will take note of this. Anyways, how can I know if it's only for a challenge post?

When you go to the submission page, it is mentioned there if it is a day for daily submissions or some specific challenge post

Screenshot_20221222-191743_Chrome.jpg

I hope it helps

Yes. That's what I'm thinking too. It passed on my eyes that day. Thanks again for mentioning it.

You are most welcome and keep dreeming 🙂

I've never heard of this recipe, but I would taste it, looks inviting :)

Better try it :)) Or cook one for yourself. 😉

Same comment! It's my first time seeing something like this. 😅

See? I made your job easier 😂

That is my favorite

Really? Good to know that. :)

Looks great, I might add some fresh coriander as well!
Popped in tonight from dreemport.