Recycle Your Leftover-Rice From The Day Before Into A Yummy Dish!!!

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago (edited)

1.jpg

At a young age of 12, I watched my Mom how she turned the "day before leftover rice" we called in the dialect Bahaw into a delish food. "Bahaw" is a Visayan term meaning not fresh and from "the day before cooked-rice". She always had a way to turn it into something spectacular. She would make a soup out of it, stuffed bell peppers or add rest of vegetables and stir-fried all before buying new stuff in the fresh market for the days that followed.

I am the only girl in the family of five brothers and therefore there was not much time for me to play outside. I had to be in the kitchen to help her prepare the food. But in the course of it all, I learned one thing and that is the value of endurance. My Mom with her perseverance, insisted that I should learn to cook and make the house a home. Therefore, once I knew the basic of cooking, I applied what I learned from her. I copied her cooking style that included recycling food leftovers and enhancing them to make scrumptious food. And so, below are steps on how I reprocessed old rice that was cooked the day before.

9.jpg

Stir-Fried Rice Enhanced with Vegetables (Easy-Peasy)

Ingredients: ( serves 2 portions)

about 4 cups of old rice (or newly cooked)
1 red onion , sliced
about 5-6 cherry tomatoes
2 cloves crushed garlic
1/2 each green and red bell pepper, diced
1 carrot, cut into bite size
1 celery stalk, diced
1 medium Zucchini, diced
2 tablespoons dried cranberries (optional)
salt
pepper
soy sauce
bit of vegetable stock or water
olive oil

Preparations:

1a.jpg

1... Prepare all the necessary ingredients... now the basic thing here is that you could add the veggies you like and should at least be equal in proportion to the rice. They should be all cut before you start cooking.

2.jpg

2... In a hot pan with 2 tablespoons olive oil, fry the garlic until brown in color, add the onions and the cherry tomatoes... Turn heat to medium stirring most of the time until all are slightly soft.

4.jpg

3... Add the rest of the vegetables and the dried cranberries if you like a bit sweeter in taste (optional), sprinkle 1 tablespoon soy sauce. Stir until soy sauce is well blended with the veggies. Add 2 tablespoon vegetable stock or water and continue stirring until all veggies become soft. The liquid will evaporate in a short time.

6.jpg

4... Add the rice to the pan and mix until well blended with the veggies. Add 2 teaspoons soy sauce to give rice some color and continue stirring. Add salt and pepper according to your taste preference.

Serve hot.... can also be served as main dish (without meat!)

Happy Cooking!

8.jpg

Original text, all images are owned by @mers

GIF by @Gremayo.gif
GIF by @gremayo

Sort:  

Yeah that is yummy but I have some fave about stir fried rice the one with only garlic and then with a dried fish dip in a spicy vinegar and that makes my day with a coffee made of toasted corn or even rice☺️ you made me crave for a fried rice👍

Hahaha.. That is one purpose of my food sharing..

That looks delicious! I do the same with my leftover rice but never thought to put in the cranberries....I must try it now LOL

I am for adding a bit of sweet in my cooking, but you could experiment by adding only a few cranberries and then check on the taste if you like it...

I do love cranberries so I imagine I would also love them in this dish 😀

Bahaw is life ate. Hehe. Im sure am gonna love that cooking you had, especially because of the veggies, yung color adds up sa ganda ng presentation and as always your photoshots po. 🙌🥰

Hahaha... natsambahan ko na naman ang shots dyan... but you have to try this one, your kids will love it.

Yummy! It doesn't look like a bahaw anymore. I love the colors. I also love turning the bahaw into champorado. I like it better than the newly boiled rice.

Oh yes you can do a champorado out of your leftover rice...hehehe

Looks delicious! It is good even if no meat. I will try this without the zucchini cook for my son and grandson because hubby and I, practiced life without rice nearly a month now.

Oh yes, try this I am sure you son and grandson will like it. Especially if you pair this with"buwad or tuyo", I am already ok with pan drippings. Lols.

You have a healthier version of fried rice. I love it with leftover adobo

Hahaha...you nailed it with thre adobo.....hmmmm, I am missing it now.

Looks yummy, colorful. I like the cherry tomatoes & bell peppers 🍅🫑
Beautiful serving @mers 🥣

Thanks darl, I am sure your kids would love this.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Hello dear @sirenahippie, glad you visitied, appreciating the support as always from you Superfoodie!

Now this is some good looking meal. Well spiced. Will try this out. Thanks for sharing

Many thanks @emma001.

    You have been manually curated by Brotherhood Community for sharing this awesome work.
    Brotherhood community will support 5 bloggers on daily basis.
    For more information about how to get curated by Brotherhood Community, check this Hive Blog.
    Delegate your Hive Power to @brotherhood for supporting more such blogs and also receive curation rewards.