Stracciatella Pancake - A Rainy Day Craving

in Foodies Bee Hive4 years ago (edited)

Stracciatella Pancakes

This is a simple pancake that is topped with oozing honey, crushed walnuts, cranberries ,dried figs as well as orange marmalade.

20200822_164850.jpg

I guess the big rain yesterday that lasted for an hour, made us crave for some sweets to savor while we watched the rain pouring down cats and dogs. It was sunny tho from morning til early afternoon with temps betwen 33-35°C. From the looks of the skies yesterday, I knew it will rain in the late afternoon. And it did, and what a rain!!! We missed Summer in July as it was either cloudy or rainy everyday. For the farmers, water is always good, but for us humans, it´s an anomaly as we couldn´t enjoy the outdoor life during the Summer season. But then August paid for the missing sunny days!

20200822_160849.jpg

At any rate, hubbz requested me to make pancakes and that is to be topped by his fave ice cream Stracciatella... And so I did, making 3 thicker pancakes. I love my pancakes thicker but loose ones that it´s spongy. Hubbz´s grandma made the palatchinken (austrian pancake) so thin which is the equivalent of the french Crepes and either add fruits on top or simply add marmalade , then roll it as in jelly roll. It will be sprinkled with confectioner´s sugar and will be eaten hot with whipping cream. I make crepes but I add the whipping cream on top then sprinkle it with melted chocolate.

IMG_20200823_132141.jpg

The pans I have been using are three.... the first is a pan for the crepes ( not in the picture), the 2nd is a larger one of about 20 cm and the smaller one is 14.5 cm in size. I use the smallest one if I make the american pancake recipe where you can pile up the pancakes and top them with Maple Syrup. In this post, I used the 2nd pan, I wanted the cakes to be thicker and larger and with the batter above , I made 3 pancakes.

20200822_164303.jpg

20200822_164228.jpg

So without further ado, below is the recipe on how I made my thick pancakes:

Stracciatella Pancake

Ingredients : ( for 3 Pancakes)

Batter

3 cups Flour
2 Eggs
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 dash of salt
1/2 cup refined sugar
1.5 tablespoon butter, melted
4 cups skimmed/less fat Milk

Toppings

1 tablespoon cranberries
2 tablespoon walnuts, crushed
2 tablespoon dried soft figs
2 tablespoon heated/liquify marmalade of your choice
Honey
Confectioner´s sugar

Preparations:

1... Mix the batter ingredients in a bowl, set mixer to medium, and mix the ingredients until a fine consistency of the batter is achieved.. If the batter is too thick add more 1/2 cup of milk, repeat mixing and set the batter aside so that it develops bubbles from the added baking soda ( about 10 minutes).

2... Heat a non-sticking pan with 1 teaspoon butter under a medium heat, add 1 cup of the batter and spread evenly til the surface of the pan is fully covered with the batter. A bit later, the bubbles will surface , wait for 1 minute more or until the top of the batter get dry a bit , then turn the side upside down. The pancake should have a golden brown surface... Arrange the pancakes on a platter and repeat with the remaining mixture.

3... Serve each pancake and spread marmalade using a pastry brush, add the nuts, cranberry and figs. Add a scoop of the Stracciatella ice cream, sprinkle with confectioner´s sugar on top and add an oozing honey that was heated in the microwave oven.

I served this with Ear Grey ice tea added with lemon juice. Now you can serve this with a cold refreshment of your own preference.

20200822_234732.jpg

20200822_164742.jpg

20200822_164753.jpg

20200822_164714.jpg

20200822_164855.jpg

All images were taken and original content written by @mers.

E N J O Y!

Gremayo.gif
GIF by @gremayo

Sort:  

Wow, this is so yummy, I wanna try this recipe. Thank you for sharing. I feel so hungry reading your blog.

Hi! Yep, you should try this recipe... I am anxious to try out your siopao recipe... As soon as I am well, I will knead again the dough soon... Thank you and thanks for dropping by.

Welcome all the time, I heard the meet up in Viena, I hope you will be there.

Yeah, there are two, but the first will be this week... that is the regular meet-up that I had been to... the other one is from cryptobrunch on Sept 5. I willtry to join when I am not stressy anymore. Thanks! Have a lovely evening!

I hope that you will be fitted to attend the meetups.

Looks delicious!

Thanks... the hot pancake was sold out right away... hehehe

The pancake looks so tasty 🤗

Thank you. Nice to see you here visiting.