Healthy Spinach and Wax Gourds Soup - Cambodian Culinary Style

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago (edited)

1AD74D8B-9113-41D5-B7AC-D2642B3F31A5.jpeg

Hello all my beloved people, today I am glad to show you how to cook Khmer food, a soup which is call S’ao Trolach. My family is truly love this recipe. The Khmer wax gourd soup is a great combination between fish and juicy wax gourd that becomes a popular dish in a family meal.

INGREDIENTS ✍️

76F8D423-5898-48CC-9692-07CCC305909B.jpeg

  • Spinach
  • Wax gourds
  • Prohok
  • Lemongrass paste
  • Fish

C5D6D586-C71F-452E-ADC5-2BCBF295FD45.jpeg

Here are the main ingredients that I have vegetables and meat. This recipe requires fish as it is soft and perfect to serve it with veggie. Normally, I used only one fish, but today I have two different types of fish so I decided to combine it together as I also have no idea what to do with another one.

STEP 1

2F206FBC-B2D3-462F-9830-290E1DB9DC64.jpeg

Pour water into a medium pot, add salt and sauce fish. I use about 1/2 tablespoon of salt and 1 tablespoon of sauce fish. Place over medium heat and bring to a gentle boil.Cook for 7-10 minutes.

STEP 2

03B60325-33D5-4D81-A53B-A20EE88F603A.jpeg

Next, we take about 2 tablespoons of Prohok, wash it well with water and then refine it with a tool like this in the boiling pot, remove the paste when the water turns dark.

STEP 3

3A0C82BA-FE10-4B8C-9021-BCCC522541AC.jpeg

Wait for the water to return to a boil, which may take 2 to 3 minutes, and then allow all the fish to boil until you can flake it easily with a fork, make sure to always check the fish.

In Cambodia culinary tradition, we usually boiled the fish like this, but some people prefer to fry it first as they want crispy skin then put it back together in one pot.

STEP 4

49917E0F-B597-457D-A3B0-831F60F97F7D.jpeg

Then, add the lemongrass paste. I used about 2 tablespoons. This paste contains lemongrass and Kaffir lime leaf that will bring a freshly smell to the soup. You can add it more or less depending on your like.

STEP 5

769C73D6-999E-4056-AB66-5ECFB2098B7E.jpeg

Another important step, we pour the main ingredients into the soup which is Wax gourds. Generally, this type of vegetables is easy to cook, take less time and fast to get soft. As I check it at the moment the fish is cook, so I would simmer it about 2-3 more minutes. After that the spinach that we have already prepared. Stir Wax gourds and spinach; cook until tender, 2 to 3 minutes more. Season with salt and pepper.

When it cooked, then you can taste the soups to make sure it suits your taste and not too salty. You can add sugar, garlic or black pepper if you prefer. For me, I actually add a little of sugar since it taste a bit salty.

F8D93968-FE0A-47A3-898B-08CFBC22EA6D.jpeg

The soup in this small bowl contains many nutrition and vitamins that can support our body, prevent disease and low calories because it is full of green vegetables and fish.

Here comes to an end, this recipe is usually prepared for lunch as we enjoy it with a group of friends or family. Must be so great if you add a little chili with sauce fish as a dipping sauce.

Sort:  

That looks yummy.
we hardly have that kind of vegetable here. But its does look nice.

Hello, according to what you said, you hardly have these vegetables. I would like to know where you are from?

Hello dear, I actually got it from local market, an old women she grows the Wax gourds by herself and sell.

hi, Iam from Indonesia. And I think we don't have that here. I tried to search it on google.

Hello, my friend. What do you not have?

Oh! Maybe you can try it someday since you already have Wax gourds. It is so yummy and healthy.

not really, I don't have that kind of vegetable around here I think.
but that looks yummy.

This one is similar to one menu here in my countru which we called "tinola" or "sinigang". Just different ingredients.

Your version too seems delicious.

Great to hear that, it sounds interesting. Thanks for sharing dear!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @mich.brmey.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

It looks very delicious...

Absolutely! I am glad to hear it from you.

I remember tinola on this but it's chicken and papaya. After seeing this I thought why not to try this without a lemon grass paste because we don't have one here.

Oh! Really different from my country dear, lemongrass paste is a common thing you can find in grocery store.

Wow, we call it here in my country tinola with vegetables..and im sure your dish is very delicious.

Hii dear, I heard of this name too, seems like we having the same taste.

It must have an interesting taste. I will definitely make it

I am glad to hear that, sure you will love it.

That soup looks delicious and healthy. 😃

Hii dear, Thank you for visiting! Have a wonderful day.

😃Thanks. You too. 😃

វាពិតជាទំនងជាឆ្ងាញ់ណាស់ហើយនិងសុខភាពល្អ។

ចា៎ អគុណមីង