The super green and aromatic basil pesto – Pesto Genovese 🌿

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

The summer left our land a month ago, but we are having a very sunny and exceptionally warm autumn and the basil plant on my balcony is still in full swing.

That is why I’ve decided to make another (probably last for this year) home basil pesto – Pesto Genovese. This “sauce” is perfect for pasta, but it is also great if you just spread it over a piece of freshly baked bread.

Without any doubt it is a very aromatic, colourful and tasty sauce that is also very simple to prepare. But even the simplest things need good quality ingredients to taste great.

I’ve tried the first homemade Pesto Genovese at my friend’s home. He made the pesto following his mother’s recipe (she is Italian) and he used: basil, olive oil, parmesan cheese, pecorino cheese, pine nuts, garlic and salt.

I’m making my pesto exactly the same way, just that I skip the garlic, since I think that it covers the freshness of the basil (but this is just my opinion).
For the last home-made pesto I had only parmesan cheese in my fridge. That is why in my below recipe I will use only that one. Below I’m sharing with you the right proportions, but honestly in general I’m doing it by taste (so I have the excuse to taste it several times during my making process 😊).

  • 50 g basil leaves
  • 35 g parmesan cheese + 10 g pecorino cheese (or 45g of parmesan cheese)
  • 8 g pine nuts
  • 60 ml olive oil
  • 1 pinch of salt

The pesto can be done using a mortar and pestle (in a traditional way) or using a kitchen mixer. I made it in the mixer. I prefer to cut the cheese into small pieces first and then I add the pine nuts.

Then you simply add the basil leaves, the salt and the olive oil. Mix all together well till the mixture is nice and homogenic. As I said, its important to make all by taste, so I’m adding the oil slowly and sometimes I use it less, sometimes more, same is with salt 😊.

You can use the pesto immediately or store it in the fridge for a few days. If you want to conserve it, press it well in a small glass jar and add some olive oil on the top to cover well the pesto.

Thanks for reading,
feel free to leave a comment, I will be glad to reply.
Best regards, @miljo76

follow.png

Sort:  

Which wine do you recommend with bread and pesto?

Definitely a white wine in my opinion! To be a little more specific, I would choose either a Pinot Gris or a wine that is local to my region, Ribolla Gialla. Otherwise, it's all a matter of individual taste. Thanks for stopping by & cheers! 🍷

Sem pricakoval da bo rebula na prvem mestu, he he.

Ha ha, ce sem posten, je nisem dal na prvo mesto, ker ni toliko poznana/razsirjena naokoli, drugace pa je rebula moje najljubse vino,... Lep pozdrav v Kanado!

Pravi patriot. Jaz sem bolj za rdeca vina(imam prijatelja v Brdih z odlicno izbiro).Drugace pa sem trenutno v Sloveniji. Mogoce bi moral posodobiti moj profil na Hivu.

Kar se tice vin, sem res bolj lokal patriot,... Strinjam se, lepo imeti prijatelje v Brdih, sploh take ki imajo dobro zalozeno vinsko klet 😀

Pesto is my favourite ❤️

Hi @clarissaaaa, pesto is also a top sauce for me. Since I'm a meat lover, I usually fry up some pancetta 🥓 and put it on the top of the plate 😋 You have to try it! Thanks for stopping by!

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Hi @anggreklestari and @foodiesunite Team, thank you for featuring my post. I really appreciate your support.

I love basil's smell. Last year I had some in my window garden and they smells amazing. My partner used to make pesto for me from basil leaves, walnut, olive oils and garlic to eat with gnocci. Love them so much. I will ask him to try your recipe one day

Great, give it a try and let me know how you like it! I'll try your pesto variant next time! Thanks for stopping by!

will do. Have a lovely day.

Oh my god you won't believe me but it's almost the same recipe I eat every second to third day at the moment! Only a clove of garlic I still add otherwise exactly the same! But maybe I should try yours, from the consistency it looks tastier:)

Ha ha, another pasta lover, great💚 Maybe mine looks more consistent because I try to use less olive oil,....you know,..... the calories 😜 And that's why it's a little more compact than in the original recipe. Let me know,....

Of course, it may be because of that, I will definitely try it and if I taste a difference, write it to you:) Sometimes you just have to have the perfect combo:)
Greetings !:D

Congratulations @miljo76! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 800 comments.
Your next target is to reach 900 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

For sure is a must try, especially if you are a pasta and basil lover. Thanks for stopping by!