You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Jamaican 'Meaty ChrisMUST'

in Foodies Bee Hive β€’ 6 months ago

Thank you πŸ€—πŸ˜Š

It's great to hear that you'd try goat. Some Canadian travellers freaked out when they heard that we eat goats in Jamaica. They thought it was as unusual as eating dogs πŸ˜…

Yeah, you could always try lamb, which would probably need a shorter time to cook (and more than likely you'd get it off the bone).
One thing I want to experiment with is what's the best kind of curry powder that's traditionally used in Jamaica. Normally, I would have purchased my curry from a Jamaican vendor without taking note of the type.

I would have added sliced fried ripe plantains as a side dish. That's a great mix of flavours.

So, a full Christmas Jamaican feast would include, ham, oxtail, and curry goat.πŸ˜‹

Sort: Β 

So, a full Christmas Jamaican feast would include, ham, oxtail, and curry goat.

Sounds good. I've made oxtail once and really liked it but it's so expensive to buy at the grocery store that I've never done it again.

I can get plantains at our grocery store so I could try that too.

The butcher had oxtail too, so I purchased the same amount of oxtail on the same day, which cost another Β£25. Both are NOT on my weekly menu.

I like to add a bottle of red wine to my oxtail recipe. I still have the oxtail in my freezer to prepare soon.

I can get plantains at our grocery store

The ripe (yellow) ones, even better when the skin starts to go dark... that's like my signature to every dish. πŸ˜‹

Red wine goes great in just about any stew.

Okay I'll keep that in mind about the plantains 😁

πŸ‘ŒπŸ˜‹