You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pear Season is Here!

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

I have the same metal funnel, I think it is older than I am. lol I learned something new, I have always kept my jars in a roasting pan of hot water. I never thought to put them in the oven. I have not done any canning this year, but your post makes me want to do it. With just the two of us, I have plenty of jars of jelly from last year. They say not to keep it for more than a year but if it is sealed, I still eat it.

Sort:  

Gracious, I've used jelly that's been around 4 or 5 years. A roasting pan of hot water sounds like a perfectly good way to keep jars hot. It's difficult to get the hot jars out of the oven without knocking them all over or burning one's fingers.

I have used it longer than a year but my husband tries to tell me that it is bad and I know it is not. He is funny about anything being out of date, but not me.

One of my daughters is extremely particular about expiration dates, too. I'm not, except for perishables,like dairy products, meats, and breads.

If meat is frozen and not freezer burnt, I am good with it, the only dairy I will eat is cheese if not moldy if it is I cut it off and it is good enough for me, and yogurt, I stir it and it seems to be good. I freeze my bread with a piece of paper towel and it keeps it fresh, or they say it does anyway I eat it.