Remembering My Childhood Favorite Dessert

I miss being a kid when we need not worry about what the future holds and we just have to enjoy the moment we're in - playing, making friends, and creating lasting memories.

One of my childhood memories was going to a town and buying this indescribable dessert - affordable yet tasty. One of the things that excite me more than just having the chance to roam around, it's the food I get to taste and the memories I get to keep.

PicsArt_11-16-09.30.51.jpg

My five-year-old self always cherished the moment of being with my mother, going to the town, and purchasing our daily needs. I vividly remember how I was feeling on cloud nine when my father handed my mother his income because I knew exactly what would happen next. My mother goes to the market once in two weeks. And when she does, I know I can accompany her in buying groceries and other necessities.

As a child, what I was always after was the food and the ride. I felt ecstatic every time I got to smell the flavors of the various street foods around the market. I enjoyed the ride with a tricycle because I felt like everything I passed by was also moving and chasing me. (And my heart is extremely joyous because, in my senses, they can't chase me. Hahaha!) My eyes got so entertained by those views I got to pass by.

By the time my mother and I arrived at the market, the first thing my eyes searched around the area was the remarkable ICE SCRAMBLE - the dessert I'd always wanted.

Sometimes, my mother would bribe me with a cup of ice scramble if I stayed behaved and would not point out stuff for her to buy. I would volunteer to carry the things she bought without complaining because the prize would be a cup or two of an ice scramble.

PicsArt_11-16-09.27.51.jpg

Last week, a colleague brought and sold ice scramble in our school canteen and when I saw it, a lot of memories kept coming back - my childhood favorite dessert, my lowkey quality time with my mother, my entertaining views along the ride - everything about my childhood.

Here are the ingredients of the new version of Ice Scramble:

Mini marshmallows

PicsArt_11-16-09.57.03.jpg

Sprinkles

PicsArt_11-16-09.56.41.jpg

Ice scramble

IMG_20240109_142145.jpg

Powdered milk, Chocolate syrup

PicsArt_11-16-10.01.41.jpg

Basically, we just have to put these ingredients all together and have them mixed after serving.

✅Crush/Shave the ice and put the fruit extract - this makes an ice scramble.
✅ Put the ice scramble in disposable cups.
✅ Top with powdered milk, marshmallows, and sprinkles.
✅ Add sweetness and pour the liquid syrup.
✅ Sell or consume.😂

PicsArt_11-16-10.03.41.jpg

It feels great how a certain food or dessert brings back a lot of memories. Therefore, food is a great preserver of tradition, culture, and even memories.

IMG_20240110_142058.jpg

PicsArt_11-16-09.56.05.jpg

This is all for today's reminiscing post. Thank you for always supporting my blog. Until the netswriting.

Sort:  

Oh Ice scramble! One pls with extra milk!😍 Kakamiss wala na ako makita nagtitinda nyan ngayon

Totoo! Minsan nalang talaga ako makakita neto. This dessert had been a great part of our childhood.☺️

Wowww, I remembered back when I was a child, I would throw a tantrum to my mom if she doesn't buy me one. Haha!

Hahahaha. Sa kagustuhan talaga nating makakain neto, kahit ano gagawin, mabilhan lang. Ehhehe

Bet ko rin ice scramble dati, pero d ako mahilig sa may toppings hehe..

Wala masyadong toppings yung dati. Hehehe pina new version lang to ngayon hehehe

Soo yummy! Tagal ko nang hindi nakakain ng scramble🥺

Bihira nalang may magtinda neto ngayon.

It's so nice to recall childhood days.Me too, like sweets,hahaha!How I loved flavor of the road ice cream when I was young🙂I loved ice scramble,too,❤️Thanks for sharing❤️

This dessert brings so much memories. Thank you for dropping by maam.

I haven't tried this ever since the world began madam... Until now I wonder how does it taste. Hmmm

It tastes like ice cream madam. Hehehe

This is also my favorite dessert when I was about 5 years old! It's really nostalgic to read your blog ma'am. I feel like I'm gonna make this one right here, right now. My childhood spirit is waving, and I also miss the feeling and place where I eat that dessert.🤗

Truly indae, this dessert is part of the childhood of many and tasting this now, brings a lot of happy memories.🥰

Thank you for leaving a comment. Appreciated.☺️

Oi ganahan pog kog ice scramble ay. haha :D

Hahaha katagsa nalang gyud ta katilaw ani.

Wow good of you, nice work