Recipes and family dishes

Beige Christmas Recipes Photo Collage_20240410_134502_0000.png


I believe everyone has different levels of relationships with food. Some people tend to love food and explore diverse meals, both local and international, more than others; however, everyone needs food to live, regardless of how much we love food.

Growing up as a child with my family, I didn't experience anything like dining out, but when it comes to exploring our native food, it's almost on a daily basis, and then the whole dining is always indoors. However, I noticed this bond that comes with dining together as a family. There's this feeling of joy and some sweet stories that accompany each meal with my family and me, attracting more bonds between us. Today, with my own family, I love preparing our local meals and our family dishes with my kids; however,we only dine out once in a while.

IMG_20231127_202907.jpg


Today, I am going to show you one of my favorite recipes. It's a family dish. It's so local, nice, and not too stressful to prepare. This meal is called banga stew and is eaten with white boiled rice.

Below are the recipes for banga stew:

Screenshot_20240410-131707.jpgScreenshot_20240410-131739.jpg

The above images of the ingredients are palm fruits, gotten from a palm tree, red in color, which is the major recipe for preparing this meal, then the vegetables (pumpkin leaf and cent leaf), stock fish, dried fish, Maggi, fresh pepper, onions, crayfish, salt, and fresh fish.

Procedures for the preparation:

Firstly, boil your stock meats of any type of your choice and set aside. Here, I used fresh fish. After that, the palm fruits are usually hard and will be boiled until they get soft, usually between 20 and 30 minutes. When the palm fruit is done, it will be pounded using a local mortar and pistol, as seen below.
Screenshot_20240410-131812.jpg


Next is to extract the paste from the palm carnel and other chaff with the use of water and a sieve. To achieve this, you will add reasonable quantity of water and, with a clean hand, mix it thoroughly and sieve it out.
Screenshot_20240410-131847.jpg


Now the extract, as seen here, is the main sauce for your banga stew. What you need to do is just get it boiled for like 15 minutes before adding every other ingredient listed above, all at the same time, then allow it to boil together for a while, check the taste, and pull it down from the fire if it tastes satisfactory.
Screenshot_20240410-132011.jpg


The process sounds tedious, but it's not a tedious process, and for the love of this family dish, I can always prepare it anytime to satisfy my craving.


Aside from the banga stew, vegetable stew is one other meal I have been exploring as a foodie. It's simple to prepare, healthy, and nutritious for the body. It also goes well with white rice, as seen below.
IMG_20240308_220639.jpg


What, then, is my relationship with food?

I think I have a healthy relationship with food because my body system accepts varieties of food from both local and international restaurants without being allergic to any. Recently, I started eating food from other cultures and have loved the adventure so far. One of the basic needs of human beings is food, at least for survival. Anything called food to quench my hunger, I am in for it. This is how much of my relationship with food.

I hope you try out the recipe I gave above.

This post was inspired by the #inleo community and my entry to the #Aprilinleo monthly topic Day 10.Please check out the announcement post to get involved.

Thanks so much for reading through 🤗.

All images are mine!

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Today Ramadan finished and you are presenting many food photographs. All of those are looking delicious and I am interested to taste all of it. So when you are going to send all the food to my location? I am waiting for it.
!PIZZA

Hahaha, see how great it is that I am showing you food photographs after Ramadan fasting instead of during the fast, haha 😂

Send your address plus some HBD 😌
And I will send your portion
Lolz

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@intishar(4/5) tipped @nkemakonam89

Yummy, I am salivating. I have heard so much about banga, and I wish to taste it but don't know where to get it. Previously, it was oha but my friend brought some for me and I enjoyed it.

There is joy in dinning together as family, it unites the family.

I have been wondering why many Nigerians don't know much about banga stew..I used to think that it's a popular food , maybe because I love it , lolz
Oga soup is good everyday... you too know good thing oo 😂
Yea.. dinning with family gives a unique kind of joy
Thanks for coming through

Banga Banga Banga soup. One day, I am going to taste this meal. I love eating palm fruits ordinarily because of the sweet red oil around it. Banga soup seems so easy to prepare once you can get that major recipe, palm fruit which is kind of scarce here.
Eating healthily is one major aspect of self-care too. Nice article 👍

So you haven't eaten banga stew before? Seriously? Then, the day you will come to my house..I will prepare it for you. Deal ? 😌😌😌

Okay deal. I would love to eat it oo 😌

I recently learned how to make this banga soup, and even shared it on my blog, It is very easy to make and delicious especially with yellow garri😁, though it looks tedious to make at first

Haha 😆😆😂
You are exploring things babe
That's interesting to know that you can make banga Stew
The tedious? Haha..many people say so
Lol

Hello @nkemakonam89 welcome to the foodies community, thank you very much for sharing with us, we invite you to comment on other posts within our community and to read the posting guidelines of our culinary niche, greetings.

Alright
I appreciate the guidance
Thanks 👍

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Many thanks for the curation 👍

Wow see enjoyment. Please I am hungry remain for me I am coming to pick it up

Haha 😆😂

Oh wow, this is something we do in Ghana too but it’s soup not stew
I’ve always seen and heard about banga stew and starch and I really can’t wait to try it when I come to Nigeria

#dreemerforlife

Yes, some people use it for soup 🍲 as well just that I prefer the stew type

I hope you visit naija one day 🤗

Yeah one day

Banga soup is one soup I love so much. I haven't tried my hands on preparing it myself though. I'll be sure to try it out. Thanks for sharing
#dreemerforlife

Awww
It's a nice thing to try out and hopefully, one day for u 🤗

Oh my God, Banga stew, now I'm salivating😌😌😌 abeg send my own to me ooo.

Eating with family is usually a fun time, with so many stories and laughter in between which helps to bond each member.

You like banga stew too?

Some family dishes have long preparation processes, however, as you explain it is worth making these delicious recipes,today I learned something new with your post.

thank you for sharing.

#dreemerforlife

I am glad you learned something new
Thanks for visiting

😍😍😍😍😍 I love this soup so much despite the fact that it's not my native soup. The first time I wasted it, I was wowed.

That looks so yummy! How do I get mine?

#dreemerforlife

Haha
Rukkie be exploring other tribal food.amazing 😍👍

I will get urs in your dream tonight 😂🤣

🤣🤣🤣 let me quickly go to bed then.

I have heard a lot about bangs soup. I can't wait to have a taste of it someday. Your explanation is clear and concise. Lovely.

#dreemerforlife

Thanks light
I hope you taste it one day 🤗

You are welcome. Cheers

Choi, that ofe akwụ mskes sense die, lol. 🤣 See enjoyment oo and I've been looking for where to go and spend the holidays. Infact I'm preparing it this weekend, good a thing I already have akwụ at home,
Local foods are just the best and they offer all the winners essential to the body.

#dreemerforlife

Awwwww
See lovers of ofe akwu oo 😂
You sabi better things nne
Lol

Oh mine! The first time I saw banga soup, I was forming, I refused to eat it😂

Omo! The second day, no body tell me, I dropped forming one side and said "let me taste this soup first be I will go back and form"

You won't believe what happened after the tasting 😂 I forgot where my forming was and ate it like never before

I enjoyed, I ate it only once in my life and like seriously, I can't wait to eat it again