Tasting a Different Kind of yellow rice (Nasi Kuning) in Palu

in Foodies Bee Hive8 months ago
Hello everyone. How are you? I hope you are doing well. Since Sunday, I left for Poso, Central Sulawesi. I departed from Jakarta since 9 pm. The total trip was almost 24 hours, by land and air.

How the story of the trip to Poso? I found a unique food. Actually, on the island of Java (Jakarta or West Java) we have found this food. However, this food is very unique. This food is yellow rice.

I feel, nasi kuning (translate in english yellow rice) that I eat is very special. Previously, for a long time, especially in my family, yellow rice as a special food. But, this yellow rice that I ate was very special. Very colorful yellow rice typical of hammer.

In Palu, yellow rice is a breakfast food. I also found out that yellow rice is wrapped in a leaf typical of the region here. I forgot the name of the leaf again. Oh yes, yellow rice in Palu is served in celebratory occasions too.

In fact, yellow rice is also served at weddings and other traditional events. So, what's the difference? There is the "kodobo" seasoning. This is a mixture of grated coconut, fancy onions, garlic, galangal and turmeric. This spice is cooked until it releases a fragrant aroma.

In addition to the distinctive seasoning, there is roughly an abundance of fried onions in the yellow rice. The side dish is very distinctive, the chicken seasoning is cooked red with a slightly sweet taste. Oh yes, for the complete yellow rice, there is red seasoned chicken, omelet, fried lung and beef cooked with soy sauce.

20230918_081124.jpg

20230918_075134.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



20230918_075042.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



20230918_075048.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



20230918_081114.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



20230918_075038.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



20230918_075033.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



20230918_075028.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



20230918_075031.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah





About Author

Nurdiani Latifah

My name is Nurdiani Latifah. I currently live in Jakarta – Indonesia, after 25 years I live in Bandung. I am a media staff at an NGO in Indonesia. I have worked in this institution for almost 2 years on issues of women and peace. I had been a journalist in Bandung for 3 years.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.