Biggest Udon Noodle I've Ever Tried!?

in Foodies Bee Hive4 months ago (edited)

The other day, one of my best friends, NR, sent me a new Udon place that she saw on a social media and she said "I know you are the one to come try this new Udon place with me" And of course, she's right! I would never say no to a noodle dish, especially Udon.

LINE_ALBUM_Shiori udon_240127_27.jpg


The evidence are hereby attached.. 😂

untitled.gif


We met up at The Bangkok Mass Transit System (BTS) station called "Siam", where at least 4 major malls are located. We walked right into the mall called "Siam Center", up to the 4th floor and we found...

🍴 the Restaurant 🍴

LINE_ALBUM_Shiori udon_240127_2.jpg


Under the sign of Shiori Udon, there is a sushi kitchen right up front and a sushi chef. This restaurant has just opened recently and we're excited to try it out.
LINE_ALBUM_Shiori udon_240127_3.jpg
On the left is a table for people who like sitting outside and having people look over to see what you eat. I'm kidding. It would be rude to do that.

LINE_ALBUM_Shiori udon_240127_4.jpg


Inside, it was pretty spacious and I find the interior pretty nice and cozy. Not so many people that day. Good for us! We will get our orders faster, I thought to myself.

LINE_ALBUM_Shiori udon_240127_5.jpg


🍽 the Menu 🍽

I picked the seat in the corner, so we can talk freely. Once we got our menu, I started to read about what they got to offer us and that is "Fresh Homemade Noodles", sounds exactly right up my alley. I always like the fresh made ones, since I find it's bouncier than the usual noodles. (If I'm not too biased or being hypnotized 😂)

LINE_ALBUM_Shiori udon_240127_6.jpg

untitled.gif

LINE_ALBUM_Shiori udon_240127_9.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Shiori udon_240127_7.jpg


Once we ordered, what came to our table first are..

🍵 the Drinks 🍵

LINE_ALBUM_Shiori udon_240127_8.jpg

It's either I feel older now or I just want to go all-in my Japanese meal vibe. I ordered a glass of iced green tea (on the left). NR got a glass of hot green tea (on the right). We joked about how we getting older and started ordering old people drinks now and how we ONLY ordered soft drinks back then. Oh! The best part of our drinks: It's refillable 😁

untitled.gif


🍜 Our Orders 🍜


🍴 Our Appetizer 🍴

Salmon Furai Cutlets with Ikura in Tartare

Furai is a traditional meat dish dipped in batter and deep fried. In this case the meat is salmon. When I took a bite, it's almost the weirdest feeling ever. Imagine this. When you eat something deep fried, it's hot, right? Because it's been FRIED in a hot oil. However, this dish is COLD! The salmon is cold and raw.
LINE_ALBUM_Shiori udon_240127_14.jpg

I mean I understand that the sauce is cold. Not only because it's mentioned in the name but it was just a sauce. But the deep fried cold and raw salmon? That caught me totally off guard. And do I like it? /myeh/ I find it a little too cold for me. And the fact that I'm not sure if it's supposed to be cold kinda confused me.

LINE_ALBUM_Shiori udon_240127_13.jpg


🍴 Our Udon 🍴

🍜 Chicken Broth Curry with Pork Loin Katsu 🍜

I'd like to start with my order. I made up my mind on 3 things: (1) Chicken Broth Curry with Pork Loin Katsu, (2) their unique flat noodle and (3) served cold.

LINE_ALBUM_Shiori udon_240127_16.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Shiori udon_240127_17.jpg

I normally don't go for a cold dish, because it's not as delicious as a hot dish (in my opinion) especially for a savory main dish like this. But the waiter suggested that if I wanna try the flat noodle, it'll be best cold. I decided to believe him and get this.

What I normally go for is curry. It should easily please me (or so I hoped). But before reviewing any taste of those I need to tell you about the FLAT NOODLE.


This would be indeed the biggest noodle, I've ever tried. I can put it on my face and it'll cover half of my face. 😂

In the dish, there were only 4 noodles. Like for real. And how to eat it is to dip the noodle in the curry then eat it. That's the part I'm struggling the most with. After that I'll take a bite of a piece of pork loin katsu.

The taste was all in all good. After the first noodle, I learned that I could cut the noodle to make it not as wide for easier consumption. I wasn't a big fan of that anyway, since I thought, if I cut them, they won't be so-called wide noodle anymore and why would I order them in the first place.

LINE_ALBUM_Shiori udon_240127_20.jpg


S__5095435_0.jpgS__5095434_0.jpgS__5095432_0.jpg

Even the taste of the curry and the cutlet was good, because it was a cold dish, that means the curry and the cutlet was also not hot, again kinda weird to me. So, after the second noodle I felt like I half-forced myself to finish the dish. That's not a great first impression of the restaurant or the flat noodles for me.


🍜 Carbonara Udon 🍜

LINE_ALBUM_Shiori udon_240127_25.jpg

Still, to me same problem remains, that it's cold and it won't keep you wanting to keep eating it and you'll most likely feel full before you finish.

Now, let's move to NR's order, the Carbonara Udon with flat noodles and also cold.

First of all, no doubt it looked delicious, but would it be so? Let's find out.

The carbonara cream was really good. It's as creamy and tasteful as it should be. I'd say it went better with the cream sauce like that than mine.

untitled.gif

LINE_ALBUM_Shiori udon_240127_12.jpg


This is us and our meal that day. We had a lot to catch up on since we haven't met face to face for a month. I told her that I was happy to see her and it's nice to get to try a new place together.

LINE_ALBUM_Shiori udon_240127_26.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Shiori udon_240127_24.jpg

It was a great time I had with her and also good to get to write about it here with you guys on Hive. Let's see what I'll come up with next time. Until then...

Today I brought this cat that she brought for me all the way from Japan.
0346AD37-86FF-4311-B1AF-6B1D6B8CFFA2.jpg


Stay hungry and keep finding yummy food, fellow foodie

Khob khun kaa,
Nomnomnoodle 🍜


Sort:  

The Udon restaurant looks very beautiful
I love everything I’m seeing
I’m very sure you had fun
Am I right?

I mean it's always a good time with a nice friend at a new exciting place, even though the food was a little weird (for my taste). 😂

Congratulations @nomnomnoodle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 90 posts.
Your next target is to reach 100 posts.
You made more than 1000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 1500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2024

your face is telling anything! 😂 yeah feeling weird for me too if the broth or gravy just cold.

right? maybe we just not used to these cold dishes.

Yeah. Sounds we are eating iced 😅

😂😂😂

Lindo lugar amiga, excelente para pasar un buen rato…gracias por compartir 😊👏